Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is an excellent recipe!! I have made this soup for guests who later went to Outback and said that this was actually better. My fiance can't get enough of it. Thank you for our favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay so this was delicious! The reasoning for the 4 star is b/c the flour water mixture did not work for me. When I first put it in and saw the lumpiness...I was like...okay still have a lot of cook time left..maybe it will unlump more, but it never did. So I ended up spooning out as much of the lumps as I could. The taste of the soup was great but the little doughy lumps added a strange texture that just didnt belong. Next time I will just do w/o the flour water mixture. And to the reviews that said this was bland.... I have have no idea in my right mind what they mean...this was loaded with flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
OMG!!! This is to die for!!! I made this for a soup/sandwich party at work and my husband and I ate the whole thing! I ended making two other soups that were very good, but did'nt hold a candle to this. I can't wait to make this again. This time I'll make a double batch though! LOL If you like creamy soups and onions, you will not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe was great. We all loved it. The next day I put the pot back on the stove and let the soup simmer for a couple of hours, the onions were perfectly tender. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I love this recipe !!!! and so does my husband I will be making it again... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
pretty yummy.........needed something so I added potatoes.....it was a hit. Will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was a good soup. Not exactly how I remember the one from the Outback restaurant - but good nonetheless. To make it faster I began by sauteeing the onions in a little bit of water to steam them while I prepared the broth. Then I added the onion, the flour mixture and lastly the cream and the cheese. I used slightly less water to compensate for what would have boiled off with all the simmering. By doing it this way, it only took me about 45 minutes start to finish. I also used Pepper Jack cheese to add a little kick to it. Nice soup. Esp with the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Was very close to Outback soup. Not exact but almost there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
yum yum I also used wondra flour and make sure to use broth and mix with water and flour to get out lumps before adding to soup..another meal I wont have to order out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was very similar to Outback's soup! I made the recipe with just minor changes. I sliced 4 small-med. onions and one really big one, and had too many onions so I added 2 more cups of water & 2 more boullion cubes. I added 1 cup of white cooking wine & left out the salt. I used a bit more cheese & pepper than called for to compensate for the extra liquids. Thickened with cornstarch so it didn't need to simmer so long. Turned out very good & was better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States