Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have had the soup at the Outback, and this is quite similar, however, I would suggest using low-sodium boullion. The only fault I had with the recipe is that it as waaay too salty. Also, to address two issues from other reviewers: to keep the onions from dissolving, yes, simmer and do not boil them, but also, just quarter the onions, do not slice them thinly; regarding the clumpy flour issue: as others have suggested, slowly add broth from the cooking soup until you have it as smooth as you can get it, then stick it in a blender, or a 'magic bullet' to puree out the rest of the lumps. Stir it gently back into the pot. Smooth as silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very yummy, but had the same issues as others did with the flour clumping. I think the simmer time could be reduced too b/c the onions fell apart. All and all I will make again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good. Since only two of us- I halfed the receipe. No reason to cook the onions that long. I added the salt and pepper during the first 30 min simmering, omitted the second 30 min. simmering. mixed the cold water and flour until smooth (no lumps), removed the onions from the hot broth. added some of hot broth mixture to the flour mixture, mixing well ,then adding the flour mixture to the hot broth, wisking well. then added the onions again, simmered about 15 min til thickened and then added the half and half and cheese. Simmer til heated. Be careful not to scorch when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
LOVED THIS SOUP. Kept this recipe just as written but since it made too much for the two of us so we saved half thesoup and used it as a base and added shrimp for a bisque type. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made some changes but a great recipe. I used 4oz. of Farmer cheese & 8oz. of White Sharp cheddar + increased the salt and pepper to taste + 4 fresh diced garlic cloves & 1 tablespoon of dried parsley. Do not follow the directions for adding the flour. Remove some hot broth from the soup and stir or blend with until smooth (like thick gravy); then just add back while stirring and you will not have lumps. You do not need a whisk. Next time I am adding sliced fresh portabella mushrooms about 5 minutes before done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Definately make again! Cut down all times by half and it tasted less bland & onions stayed intact. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This soup needs something..some more flavor...it's a bit too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Have made the soup twice and found that I had made a mistake the 1st time but to my surprise it is the way I will always make it now. The time to simmer onions is too long, total simmer time should only be 1 hr or the onions simply disintergrate. Thanks for the recipe, it is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was pretty good! I didn't have beef bouillon on hand so I replaced half of the water with beef broth. I also added more cheese as it wasn't cheesy enough for me. I also used a mixture of cornstarch and water to thicken instead of the flour and it seemed to work much better. With these modifications it tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desfrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We really enjoyed this soup and it was very easy to make. I've never had this at the restaurant so I can't compare it, but I'll definitely make it again. This time I won't cook the onions so long, because I'd rather have them "whole" then actually melt into the soup. I'm also going to try serving it like french onion, with a crouton and sprinkled cheese melted on top. Overall, a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States