Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added chantrelle mushrooms & broccoli to the soup during the onion boiling stage. I added 3/4 cup of orozo and used a can of condenced milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I always use chicken stock when I make this. I also only use 1 1/2 quarts of liquid. I add more pepper and salt, I also throw in some thyme, oregano, and rosemary. I add extra onions and use a little more flour and cheese too :D Basically I don't use this recipe. It's just reminder I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have never been compelled to write a review but until now I have never been this disappointed with a recipe. This soup was the most disgusting thing I have ever attempted from this website. It was a complete mess with clumps and it taste like beef broth and flour paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This did not work for me. I made as stated in the recipe. I was concerned about using beef broth for this soup and should have gone with my gut. The flavor was just wrong and the color was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Good Flavor. Check other reviewer notes for how to do it without breaking up the onions and how to break up lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent soup! I make it all of the time now. The only thing I've changed was cutting out the salt. I love salt but I feel that the cheese adds plenty of it. Very hearty and flavorful! I do 3 pounds of yellow onions. Yes, three pounds of tear shedding onions. lol Onions are yummy! (Painful but yummy!) Also, if you whisk the flour into the cold water before you add it to the broth you will take care of the lumps. I start with at least a little over a half a pot of water and I use "Not Beef" Bouillon Cubes. So my recipe add the extra onions, loses the salt, I increase the monterey colby mix to two full cups...more water and special "not beef" bouillon cubes. I do ALL the simmering which is great to make the onions disintegrate. I start out around 9, settings wise, on a conventional oven and then take it down to around 4-ish. If you do all of the simmering then no blending is required. Amazeballs recipe only slightly tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Mine didn't clump at all, and it was fantastic. I used half and half fat free (for my diet), and it worked out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lain Kawaii Riley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was a very good soup. I haven't had the soup from outback so I can't say how it is in comparison. I used half and half instead of cream that is why I gave this 5 stars, with the half and half it was more of a 4 star soup. I mixed the flour with the 1/2 cup of water and a scoop of soup in a blender, turned out perfect. I increased the heat from a simmer to a medium-high heat before putting the cheese in to make sure it melted. Overall a delicious soup that is definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just made this soup tonight for dinner. Flavor-wise, I would rate it 5 stars--it was quite yummy! Appearance-wise, I'd only give it 1 star. Many others have mentioned this--the onions nearly cook to nothing if you cook them as long as listed. I cooked mine half the time and I still couldn't stir the soup enough to blend in the cheese. It still tasted yummy--just didn't have the nice, consistent appearance I'd like to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
this was pretty good....not the best soup but worth another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States