Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Better than the plain white sugar, salt and pepper brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used this for a thanksgiving turkey. It gave the turkey great flavor. I roasted a la Safeway's "2 hour turkey." Unstuffed, the 22 pound bird was done at 475 in 2 hours.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I used this brine recipe for my turkey, and it came out nice and juicy! The Turkey just melted in my mouth, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Tried this for the first time this Thanksgiving...and I must say it was the BEST turkey I have ever tasted. I was a little leary at first and hoped that it would be seasoned enough, but it was perfect. I stuffed the inside of the turkey with a stick of butter, three stalks of celery and about 5 cloves of garlic. Then placed the bird, breast side down in a disposible roasting pan and covered tightly with foil. Then a put it on the smoker Thanksgiving morning. It was the juiciest turkey I have ever cooked! My family RAVED over how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this was the first turkey I put in brine. I let it set two days, used a frozen turkey, about 20 lbs. I added an extra half of this recipe to cover it completely.I put it in a large clean pail/bucket, covered it and put it in the garage(34-35 degrees F. in the garage,) the weather was perfect. when cooked, it was flavorful and really nice. my husband even commented on the difference. will try with chicken sometime. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilypads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is the perfect base for killer smoked, deep fried or even oven roasted turkey. I just bought a new 5-gallon bucket with lid that I could put in a cold corner of my garage for 3 days. Just remember to drain and dry your turkey extremely well before cooking by any methods. Even the breast meat comes out as tender and as juicy as dark meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Used this to brine a 12# turkey for the 4th of July. Followed directions exactly. Put "Memphis Rub" on turkey after rinsing and drying after 2 days brining. Refrigerated overnight and smoke cooked the turkey about 4 1/2 hours next morning. Made baste of butter and additional rub. This made a very moist, tender and delicious smoke cooked turkey. Will try a different rub next time. Reason for only 4 stars is because this was my first attempt at doing a turkey this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My first attempt at doing a brine and I will NEVER prepare a turkey any other way from now on. This definitely was out of this world, moist and tasty. It was very easy to do also. I just bought a new 5 gallon pail, mixed up the brine and plopped the bird down inside. Covered it and put it in the garage overnight, then roasted using Alton Brown's method (from Food Network) which was to start it in the oven at 500 degrees for the first 30 minutes, then turned it down to 350 degrees for the remainder. Awesome, phenomenal....best turkey I ever put in my mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
959 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I loved this recipe, I used a roasting pan and soaked it breast side down for 24 hours and then Wing side down for 15. When we begain roasting I left the cover off at 425 for 25 min then turned the pan for another 25 min. placed the cover back on and and turned the temp to 325 and our 16.5 lb turkey cooked in 3 hours and it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was my first time to brine a turkey...it was also my first time to smoke a turkey..not sure what worked well, but it came out pretty good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States