Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Best turkey ever!! I smoked a turkey for Thanksgiving, and found this recipe for a brine. Followed it as is, and this turned out to be the best turkey I have ever made! Will keep useing this brine, 100% recomened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I'll keep it simple. Followed the recipe, brined for 2 days, cooked it indirectly on the Webber with no additional seasoning added. The best turkey ever. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Faught

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
If I could give more then 5, I would give 10 stars! I always brine poultry prior to cooking - have done it for years - and take the process seriously. However, I spotted this recipe and figured why not? SO SO SO glad I did! I had 2 turkeys - one to roast in the oven and one to smoke on the grill. It took 3 gallons of water to cover both in a huge kettle. I made the recipe for 2 gallons of water, added to the turkeys in a kettle and then just added 1 more gallon of water. Although diluted, it was still the most amazing brine ever! Who takes poultry from the brine and says - wow this smells amazing?? NO ONE - until this! I had a 10 pound turkey and a 12 pound turkey; both fresh. I don't know if they were injected or not at butcher. I rinsed the brine off and cooked. They both gained pounds after brining! The brine created such a juicy turkey, very forgiving after long cooking times. These had to be the best turkeys I have EVER made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best brine ever! Made my turkey the best tasting bird we ever had. Brined it for 2 days in a roaster bag and placed in a roaster pan for stability. Turned it twice. Yuummmmm.....only way I will make turkey for now on! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have never cooked a turkey and this was my year to cook one so I decided to brine it first. I used this recipe. I brined a pre-basted 12 pound butterball. After reading the reviews for this recipe, some reviewers said that it resulted in a very salty turkey, so I put in only 1 cup of sea salt and added some onions and thyme and brined it for approx. 12 hours in a 5-gallon bucket. My turkey turned out great. Wasn't salty at all and the turkey came out super moist. Definitely will do this next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I use brines often and especially with turkey. I followed this recipe exactly but I think the two day brining process made the turkey overly salty. If I use this recipe again I will cut back to one day of brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great brine. Don't waste your time or money if you have a large bird on the roasting bags, they blow open. :-( large bucket is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I brined my turkey last year for the first time with this recipe, and I can not believe the difference it made - juicy, tender & savory. I used a clean cooler to do it in and stored it in my garage (Mass. - cold this time of year)I added apple juice (about 1/2 gal) with cut up apples, a little bit of nutmeg, allspice & cinnamon. I put it in on Tuesday night and let it sit till Thurs. morning. So yummy definitely worth the time & little effort. GREAT RECIPE - Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I didn't know about brine. I tried it for the first time last year. i followed the recipe as it is, the turkey was the best one my family has ever had. I will never make another turkey without brining. thank you. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njbruce
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Adding to my other reviews of this brine..Another Thanksgiving and another smoked turkey with this brine. Even the smell of cold leftovers still make me involuntarily salivate like Pavlov's dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States