Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
After spending way too much money on brining mix at W & S for the last 4 years, I decided to try this recipe and am I glad I did! I followed the recipe as is and threw in a cut-up orange with rind along with some fresh rosemary and sage. I loved the ease of not having to first cook and then cool the brine. Instead of putting the turkey and brine in a roasting bag (not large enough for a 16.5 lb. turkey and the brining liquid) or a large brining bag (too pricey), I use a small styrofoam cooler which holds everything nicely and still fits in my refrigerator. After soaking the bird for 24 hours, it was cooked on a charcoal rotisserie with mesquite wood chips and, honestly, it was the best tasting turkey I've ever had! It was much better than the Thanksgiving turkey which was cooked the same way, but brined in the expensive W & S dry brine mix. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was the first time I have brined a turkey. I defrosted the turkey for 3 days and brined for 2 days as stated in another review. The only thing I did differently was using Kosher salt instead of canning salt(I couldn't find any). I baked an 11.28Lb turkey for about 3 1/2 hours at 350 degrees and it came out PERFECT!!! The popper from in the turkey actually popped at about 3 hours 10 minutes. I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe. The whole family raved about how juice this turkey was. This will definitely be my go to recipe whenever we have turkey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The best brine I've done A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique DesRoches Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used this for a turkey I smoked at Thanksgiving. It was great. I used an igloo drink cooler. The kind you see at a sports event or construction site. I put the turkey inside an oven roaster bag and poured the brine in with it. Put it in the cooler with ice. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Best turkey ever!! I smoked a turkey for Thanksgiving, and found this recipe for a brine. Followed it as is, and this turned out to be the best turkey I have ever made! Will keep useing this brine, 100% recomened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I'll keep it simple. Followed the recipe, brined for 2 days, cooked it indirectly on the Webber with no additional seasoning added. The best turkey ever. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfquest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
If I could give more then 5, I would give 10 stars! I always brine poultry prior to cooking - have done it for years - and take the process seriously. However, I spotted this recipe and figured why not? SO SO SO glad I did! I had 2 turkeys - one to roast in the oven and one to smoke on the grill. It took 3 gallons of water to cover both in a huge kettle. I made the recipe for 2 gallons of water, added to the turkeys in a kettle and then just added 1 more gallon of water. Although diluted, it was still the most amazing brine ever! Who takes poultry from the brine and says - wow this smells amazing?? NO ONE - until this! I had a 10 pound turkey and a 12 pound turkey; both fresh. I don't know if they were injected or not at butcher. I rinsed the brine off and cooked. They both gained pounds after brining! The brine created such a juicy turkey, very forgiving after long cooking times. These had to be the best turkeys I have EVER made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have never cooked a turkey and this was my year to cook one so I decided to brine it first. I used this recipe. I brined a pre-basted 12 pound butterball. After reading the reviews for this recipe, some reviewers said that it resulted in a very salty turkey, so I put in only 1 cup of sea salt and added some onions and thyme and brined it for approx. 12 hours in a 5-gallon bucket. My turkey turned out great. Wasn't salty at all and the turkey came out super moist. Definitely will do this next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I use brines often and especially with turkey. I followed this recipe exactly but I think the two day brining process made the turkey overly salty. If I use this recipe again I will cut back to one day of brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great brine. Don't waste your time or money if you have a large bird on the roasting bags, they blow open. :-( large bucket is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States