Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
If I could give more then 5, I would give 10 stars! I always brine poultry prior to cooking - have done it for years - and take the process seriously. However, I spotted this recipe and figured why not? SO SO SO glad I did! I had 2 turkeys - one to roast in the oven and one to smoke on the grill. It took 3 gallons of water to cover both in a huge kettle. I made the recipe for 2 gallons of water, added to the turkeys in a kettle and then just added 1 more gallon of water. Although diluted, it was still the most amazing brine ever! Who takes poultry from the brine and says - wow this smells amazing?? NO ONE - until this! I had a 10 pound turkey and a 12 pound turkey; both fresh. I don't know if they were injected or not at butcher. I rinsed the brine off and cooked. They both gained pounds after brining! The brine created such a juicy turkey, very forgiving after long cooking times. These had to be the best turkeys I have EVER made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best brine ever! Made my turkey the best tasting bird we ever had. Brined it for 2 days in a roaster bag and placed in a roaster pan for stability. Turned it twice. Yuummmmm.....only way I will make turkey for now on! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have never cooked a turkey and this was my year to cook one so I decided to brine it first. I used this recipe. I brined a pre-basted 12 pound butterball. After reading the reviews for this recipe, some reviewers said that it resulted in a very salty turkey, so I put in only 1 cup of sea salt and added some onions and thyme and brined it for approx. 12 hours in a 5-gallon bucket. My turkey turned out great. Wasn't salty at all and the turkey came out super moist. Definitely will do this next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I use brines often and especially with turkey. I followed this recipe exactly but I think the two day brining process made the turkey overly salty. If I use this recipe again I will cut back to one day of brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great brine. Don't waste your time or money if you have a large bird on the roasting bags, they blow open. :-( large bucket is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I brined my turkey last year for the first time with this recipe, and I can not believe the difference it made - juicy, tender & savory. I used a clean cooler to do it in and stored it in my garage (Mass. - cold this time of year)I added apple juice (about 1/2 gal) with cut up apples, a little bit of nutmeg, allspice & cinnamon. I put it in on Tuesday night and let it sit till Thurs. morning. So yummy definitely worth the time & little effort. GREAT RECIPE - Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I didn't know about brine. I tried it for the first time last year. i followed the recipe as it is, the turkey was the best one my family has ever had. I will never make another turkey without brining. thank you. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njbruce
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Adding to my other reviews of this brine..Another Thanksgiving and another smoked turkey with this brine. Even the smell of cold leftovers still make me involuntarily salivate like Pavlov's dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I had never brined a turkey before last year. I used this recipe exactly as it was written and had the juiciest most flavorful turkey I've ever had and by oven roasting it no less It was even juicier than my deep fried turkeys the last couple years. I have one soaking as we speak. Once you try it once I doubt that you will do it any other way! Thanks! Not very much work for a much better bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crushed Tomatoes
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used the turkey roasting bag to contain the brine, and dropped in an 18qt cooler for a day and a half. Smoked turkey the next day, basting the bird every hour after 2 hours on the grill. Delicious! Tender, just the right flavoring. Not too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crushed Tomatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States