Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Ease off on the salt just a bit, make sure you rinse your bird well before roasting, and if you use drippings for gravy and/or stuffing do NOT add salt -the salt from the drippings will be plenty. I've used this recipe since 2012 and always receive rave reviews on my turkey. I buy a frozen bird and let it thaw in the brine solution for 5 days in a 5 gallon bucket out in the garage (I live in Indiana, so it's plenty cool in the garage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJo Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I used a1 steak sauce instead of Worcester and the result was amazing this is the way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Best ever! Used this to marinate two wild Turkeys. Soaked 24 hours before smoking them on the grill. I did not use surgar. I did add a cup of Apple Cider vinegar and a couple of Tablespoons of ground sage. I also doubled the amount of fresh garlic. The flavor and moisture in the turkeys were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made exactly as written. Best turkey ever! So moist it's crazy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is the 2nd time I have used this brine when doing my "Trash Can Turkey". It is amazing. I added two whole heads of smashed garlic, 1 whole chopped onion and 1 whole crushed orange. And the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Absolutely out of this world! I have brined chickens with other brines and wasn't impressed. Actually I was never going to brine birds again but I let the wife pick the "menue" and I'm glad she did! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Excellent. Used with Martha Stewart's suggestion of soaking cheesecloth in butter and covering turkey with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wow. Everyone always comes to my home for my smoked turkey.I never brined my bird. After using this recipe, I will brine from now on. I also used as an injection and baste while I was smoking my 2 15lbs turkeys. OMG good.Best I've ever had or made. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeem Fear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Incredible!! Used 2/3 cup sea salt (only)- Garlic powder(not garlic salt)-added a touch of cayenne pepper and maybe one gallon of water. 15 lbs turkey smoked for 7.5-8 hours (30min per lbs). Mesquite wood and last hour added more mesquite and put a stick of butter in the cavity. Want to try next more cayenne (not noticeable at all). Possibly hickory wood. Temp 220-250ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I decided to use a brine this year instead of my usual marinade. I substituted Kosher salt for the canning salt and cider vinegar for Worcestershire sauce. This was the best and most moist turkey I've ever served. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa-Anne Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States