Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Helpful tip: Use a turkey roasting bag (i.e. Reynolds) to hold your turkey in the brine and then put into roasting pan for stability and then put in the refrigerator to soak in all the good flavor. When draining brine put turkey in a strainer and cut bag, drain liquid, then lift bag out and drain bird. Easy and worth it...Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonlrusso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My first attempt at doing a brine and I will NEVER prepare a turkey any other way from now on. This definitely was out of this world, moist and tasty. It was very easy to do also. I just bought a new 5 gallon pail, mixed up the brine and plopped the bird down inside. Covered it and put it in the garage overnight, then roasted using Alton Brown's method (from Food Network) which was to start it in the oven at 500 degrees for the first 30 minutes, then turned it down to 350 degrees for the remainder. Awesome, phenomenal....best turkey I ever put in my mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1011 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I had never cooked a turkey before and decided to add the extra step in brining it. It was an 18lb turkey so I emptied the bottom drawer from my fridge and brined it overnight in there. I was only able to put about 3/4 of the water that the recipe called for and was worried that it would be salty but it wasn't. Also, it would have helped dissolve the salt in hot water and then add the rest of the water. I added salt and it kind of just sat at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made two turkeys this week (they were on sale). I did what Secret Agent suggested and used a washed out cooler to brine the two. The first turkey I soaked for only about 5 hours and it was just ok (cooked in a bag). However, the second one - OUT OF THIS WORLD is right. It was the very BEST turkey that I have ever ever made... EXCELLENT. The flavor was wonderful !! Thank you so much, I will never cook another turkey without brining it like this again. (I used fresh garlic and Rock Salt since I didn't have any other kind of salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent brine! Added a sliced onion to give more depth to the meat and left the peppercorns whole! Helpful Hint: 1.) For those concerned about keeping your "bird" cool, clear out your crisper drawer to submerge your bird. Steady, even temperature with no danger of spoiling! 2.) Brined turkeys cook faster ~ monitor your bird closely so it will not overcook!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this was the first turkey I put in brine. I let it set two days, used a frozen turkey, about 20 lbs. I added an extra half of this recipe to cover it completely.I put it in a large clean pail/bucket, covered it and put it in the garage(34-35 degrees F. in the garage,) the weather was perfect. when cooked, it was flavorful and really nice. my husband even commented on the difference. will try with chicken sometime. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is the perfect base for killer smoked, deep fried or even oven roasted turkey. I just bought a new 5-gallon bucket with lid that I could put in a cold corner of my garage for 3 days. Just remember to drain and dry your turkey extremely well before cooking by any methods. Even the breast meat comes out as tender and as juicy as dark meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
FIRST-TIME BRINERS: AFTER BRINING, YOU MUST THOROUGHLY RINSE THE TURKEY IN RUNNING WATER (about 2 mins) and then PAT IT DRY thoroughly before baking. Also, DON'T BRINE A TURKEY THAT IS MARKED "PRE-BASTED". I suspect one or the other of these is the issue for those complaining about their bird being "too salty" even after cutting back on the salt. Do not cut back on the salt! The rinse and/or the unbasted bird will solve your problem. This recipe is terrific, but the author unfortunately assumed users would know these things. Do try it again!! I add 1/2 can of orange juice concentrate but everything else is the same. If you are using frozen turkey, it should be thawed before brining. A FRESH turkey will always turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Tried this for the first time this Thanksgiving...and I must say it was the BEST turkey I have ever tasted. I was a little leary at first and hoped that it would be seasoned enough, but it was perfect. I stuffed the inside of the turkey with a stick of butter, three stalks of celery and about 5 cloves of garlic. Then placed the bird, breast side down in a disposible roasting pan and covered tightly with foil. Then a put it on the smoker Thanksgiving morning. It was the juiciest turkey I have ever cooked! My family RAVED over how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeva Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was great. The turkey was so moist and had a wonderful flavor. I was concerned about the stuffing being to salty so I left out the salt in my stuffing recipe. It turned out perfect. Will never make turkey again with out brining it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States