Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This Thanksgiving was my first time to do the cooking for my family and i'm sure glad i used this recipe for the turkey-it was SPECTACULAR! I stuffed the turkey with 1 red apple(sliced), 1/2 onion (sliced), 1 cinnamon stick,1 cup water, 4 sprigs rosemary, and 6 leaves sage, that had been steeped in a pot for 5min, then rubbed a generous amount of olive oil on the turkey and cooked for 30min at 500 degrees, and then for the remainder(about 2.5hrs) at 350...EVERYONE loved it, including my picky 10 and 11yr old brothers and overly critical in-laws!lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Fabulous! After 24 hours I also used the Herb Turkey Rub recipe and wrapped by bird in bacon. I butterflied one bird a placed it on the grill with a piece of oak via indirect heat while the other bird roasted in the stove. Both amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Quinlan Russell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Worked great, I also added the apple cores and peels from my peeling apples for apple pie. Why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
made turkey too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
One reviewer suggested boiling the brine to bring out all the flavors. We did that and then smoked our 8 pound turkey for about three hours. BEST TURKEY EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This made a perfect turkey for us this Thanksgiving. We had a 16.7 lb bird and I didn't change the proportions grilled the bird for 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
By far the best turkey I can ever remember! About the only thing I changed was to use a lot more garlic. :) I had a 10.5 pound "store brand" turkey. For roasting, I detached the skin from the breast and put butter and Mrs. Dash in between the skin and meat. I actually stretched the skin back over the meat fairly tightly, tucked it into the neck and held it in place with tooth picks. There were a couple of small "holes" in the skin (from my skin loosening, I'm sure!) and I patched those by tucking in some extra skin from the neck so that the breast meat was "sealed". I sprinkled all the skin with the pickling salt, pepper and rubbed in lots of Mrs. Dash. Wish I had NOT used the extra salt - the pan drippings were too salty for gravy. I cooked it on a wire rack in a roaster pan at 350 for about 3 hours. I started cooking with the turkey covered with foil, breast side down. I turned it over to breast side up half way through my cooking time. I left it uncovered at that point. I turned the oven to convection for about the last 15 minutes. The whole turkey sat on a serving platter covered with foil for about an hour and a half before while being transported to my Moms. (It was Norman Rockwell beautiful before slicing!) When I cut it, it was still hot, and wonderfully moist. Can't wait to try it on the smoker. I will be picking up extra turkeys to put in the deep freezer while they are on sale for the holidays -- a first for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and maybe roasting the turkey breast instead of smoking it had something to do with it, but it was WAY too salty. I couldn't drink enough water that night! Sorry, I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is the second time I have brined a turkey before cooking. Our usual turkey consists of my dad smoking and deep frying the turkey, which he did this year as well. I went and bought a turkey so we could have some leftovers. I had a 17 lb. turkey and followed this recipe as is, but I did add onion and some liquid smoke to the brine. I brined for about 14+ hours, as I didn't have 2 days to wait. I roasted the turkey in the oven for about 4 hours, but I roasted it for the first 2 & 1/2 with the breast side down so that all the juices would drip into the breast meat. The last hour and a half, I turned the turkey over and roasted it with the breast side up, and continued to baste as it cooked. NOTE: I RINSED the turkey thoroughly before roasting. If you don't do this, it will be overly salty! This turkey turned out VERY moist and VERY tender! It had good flavor, but it was just a touch salty. Not enough for me to complain about, but it was there. I would certainly recommend this brine and I will definitely do my turkey this way again, because I don't have a turkey fryer. If I had more time, I would have smoked the turkey too. This one is a keeper, but remember, THOROUGHLY RINSE the turkey after taking it out of the brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The best turkey I've ever eaten. Very moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States