Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband is now an official All recipe newbie, he made this recipe for a turkey that he smoked on the smoker yesterday for a late Thanksgiving dinner with our good friends. They said it was the Best turkey they've ever tasted. Watch out All recipes a new grill master is on board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Aspman
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I WISH I COULD RATE THIS 10 STARS!!! Every Thanksgiving we have 40 people and do 3 turkeys in a roaster/smoker with light smoke. I decided to try this brine based on the reviews. We usually get great raves on our birds. Everyone said that these were the best we have ever done!! All of the leftovers were taken by our guests. I used garbage bags to seal in the brine. If you do this, make sure that you remove as much ari as possible from the bag and tie it good. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This Thanksgiving was my first time to do the cooking for my family and i'm sure glad i used this recipe for the turkey-it was SPECTACULAR! I stuffed the turkey with 1 red apple(sliced), 1/2 onion (sliced), 1 cinnamon stick,1 cup water, 4 sprigs rosemary, and 6 leaves sage, that had been steeped in a pot for 5min, then rubbed a generous amount of olive oil on the turkey and cooked for 30min at 500 degrees, and then for the remainder(about 2.5hrs) at 350...EVERYONE loved it, including my picky 10 and 11yr old brothers and overly critical in-laws!lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Fabulous! After 24 hours I also used the Herb Turkey Rub recipe and wrapped by bird in bacon. I butterflied one bird a placed it on the grill with a piece of oak via indirect heat while the other bird roasted in the stove. Both amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannabeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Worked great, I also added the apple cores and peels from my peeling apples for apple pie. Why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
made turkey too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
One reviewer suggested boiling the brine to bring out all the flavors. We did that and then smoked our 8 pound turkey for about three hours. BEST TURKEY EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This made a perfect turkey for us this Thanksgiving. We had a 16.7 lb bird and I didn't change the proportions grilled the bird for 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
By far the best turkey I can ever remember! About the only thing I changed was to use a lot more garlic. :) I had a 10.5 pound "store brand" turkey. For roasting, I detached the skin from the breast and put butter and Mrs. Dash in between the skin and meat. I actually stretched the skin back over the meat fairly tightly, tucked it into the neck and held it in place with tooth picks. There were a couple of small "holes" in the skin (from my skin loosening, I'm sure!) and I patched those by tucking in some extra skin from the neck so that the breast meat was "sealed". I sprinkled all the skin with the pickling salt, pepper and rubbed in lots of Mrs. Dash. Wish I had NOT used the extra salt - the pan drippings were too salty for gravy. I cooked it on a wire rack in a roaster pan at 350 for about 3 hours. I started cooking with the turkey covered with foil, breast side down. I turned it over to breast side up half way through my cooking time. I left it uncovered at that point. I turned the oven to convection for about the last 15 minutes. The whole turkey sat on a serving platter covered with foil for about an hour and a half before while being transported to my Moms. (It was Norman Rockwell beautiful before slicing!) When I cut it, it was still hot, and wonderfully moist. Can't wait to try it on the smoker. I will be picking up extra turkeys to put in the deep freezer while they are on sale for the holidays -- a first for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and maybe roasting the turkey breast instead of smoking it had something to do with it, but it was WAY too salty. I couldn't drink enough water that night! Sorry, I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States