Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great brine base however I added 1/2 gal apple juice and reduced water to 1-1/2 gal. Turkey taste is apple subtle and really drew many kudos. Do chicken thighs and breasts same way and are outrageous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Excellent. We roasted our turkey and it was juicy and tender. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
WOW! My first ever turkey this year, and I blew it out of the water with this brine! I have multiple requests for this recipe...I am debating whether or not I want to share my new secret =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was the first year for me to try a brine on my turkey. I have heard alot about it but have never tried it. This receipe WOW-ED my family. It had such great flavor and was so moist. This was very easy to put together and I used a brine bag that I purchased from the grocery store. All I can say is yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I thought this was a great brine. MY family and guests loved it and they did not think it was salty at all. I did add a jerk rub that had brown sugar, white sugar, black and white pepper, and Cayenne. This may have taken away from being salty. I also smoked it for 12 hours with hickory wood and my turkey was 22lbs. It was juicy and full of flavor all the way to the core of the bird. I've been smoking all kinds of meat for years and this was the best turkey I've done. I also stuffed the turkey with apples and used sprayed it with apple juice during the smoking process to keep it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I tried this brine recipe this year and I must admit my 20 lb. turkey turned out great. It was by far the best turkey I have ever made. I did mix a bunch of fresh herbs with garlic and butter and stuff it between the skin and the breast and I covered the just the breast meat after 2 hours with foil to help seal in the juices but it worked. I also put the turkey at 500 for the first 30 minutes and then turned it down to 350 for the remaining 5 1/2 hours. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely do this again. Even the left overs are fabulous cold right out of the fridge. Very happy I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
1000% a Keeper...If there's no room in the fridge..Place in plastic bag or new unscented garbage bag :-)...Close bag tightly remove as much air as possible..Set in cooler and Fill with Ice...If it's cold outside..Sit out there or in garage...After THROUGHLY rinsing I added Garlic Powder, Onion Powder and Pepper..Place 2 Celery Sticks and 1/2 a Whole Onion in cavity..Smooched a stick of Softened Butter under skin...Make sure to save some butter to rub over entire turkey body and there you go...Resturant Quality Turkey...Picture Perfect Looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I boiled and cooled ingredients to dissolve kosher salt....baked breast down at 500 degrees for first 30 minutes...then baked at 350 degrees for remainder....great for bone in chicken breasts too....just marinate in brine overnight for at least eight hours..............yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is the first time I've ever brined a turkey before roasting. I followed the recipe to the letter including using canning salt and rinsing the turkey after brining. Maybe it's just my taste buds or maybe I inadvertantly did something wrong but I found the turkey on the salty side. I cooked stuffing inside the bird. I didn't add salt to the dressing specifically because it was being cooked inside a brined turkey. Figured hubby and I could add salt at the table if it was needed. Nope..it was plenty salty too. The meat was tasty and moist but not as tender as some birds I've roasted over the years. Over all I wasn't too impressed but with all these rave reviews, who knows. I will try a different brine next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is the best recipe I have ever used for a turkey brine! Followed the directions as written and the turkey was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States