Out of the Hat Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Simple rice all dressed up! Gorgeous presentation, delicately seasoned rice with the green onion, lemon and butter that plays the supporting role to your main meat or fish dish perfectly. I love basmati rice and it was definitely the right choice for this. I used baby arugula rather than the spinach, only because it's what I had in the fridge, not because I thought it was a better choice. I cooked the rice in chicken broth and the white part of the green onion, then stirred the green part in at the end to preserve its color. I used the lemon juice "to taste," just a little squeeze - less than the recipe called for. This was the ideal complement to "Veal Cutlet with Red Peppers," also from this site. Happy to be the first reviewer of your recipe, JusSuz! Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I used brown basmati rice and increased the water to reflect the change in rice. I did saute the green onion and a little bit of minced garlic slightly in a tbsp. of EVOO before adding the water. My husband and I thought this was great, especially me but the kids were less than enthused. Whatever, I'm making it again no matter what they say. ;) I REALLY liked the flavor of the brown rice with the green onions, garlic and the lemon. I served this with Coq Au Vin, My Way, which is also from this site. Probably not the best pairing but we ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Perfect rice dish to go with the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan (from this site). Followed the recipe with the exception of using Low Sodium Chicken Stock instead of water and added the lemon juice to taste at the end. We enjoyed this and will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This rice was a quick and easy way to change things up! Very lemony and you should know this going in due to the recipe itself. It went very well with Shrimp Francesca recipe from this site and asparagus:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyclechic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars for ease of preparation and being tasty. I used margarine instead of butter (to keep it parve to serve with chicken). Oops! I forgot to rinse the rice. No problem. It came out fine anyway. This recipe is a keeper. I also printed it out for my daughter to make for her fiance. I loved the idea of using an ice cream scoop to dish out the rice on a bed of greens. I did that, and it looked so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This modest, unassuming rice almost stole the show and the main dish's primary role. Only difference is I used chicken broth in lieu of the water which gave the dish a little more depth and used fresh coarse cracked pepper. The extra bite from the pepper with the rice provided an occasional extra burst of flavor Loved the presentation and was the perfect pairing served with salmon. Thanks JusSuz for your submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Can't believe how full of flavor the rice turned out! This recipe is extremely simple and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ju
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Tasty. Used frozen spinach (and more than called for) and added garlic. Threw everything together in the rice cooker and stirred occasionally as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
A very good side dish that went well with 'Artichoke Chicken' from AR. I did make in the steamer rather than on the stove top. The one ingredient change I did make was to use chicken stock rather than water for the rice. I also serve 'Airport Bob's Green Beans' from AR and we had a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I forgot to add the lemon juice, and I don't think I would add it the next time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States