Out of the Hat Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Can't believe how full of flavor the rice turned out! This recipe is extremely simple and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ju
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I forgot to add the lemon juice, and I don't think I would add it the next time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This modest, unassuming rice almost stole the show and the main dish's primary role. Only difference is I used chicken broth in lieu of the water which gave the dish a little more depth and used fresh coarse cracked pepper. The extra bite from the pepper with the rice provided an occasional extra burst of flavor Loved the presentation and was the perfect pairing served with salmon. Thanks JusSuz for your submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Tasty. Used frozen spinach (and more than called for) and added garlic. Threw everything together in the rice cooker and stirred occasionally as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars for ease of preparation and being tasty. I used margarine instead of butter (to keep it parve to serve with chicken). Oops! I forgot to rinse the rice. No problem. It came out fine anyway. This recipe is a keeper. I also printed it out for my daughter to make for her fiance. I loved the idea of using an ice cream scoop to dish out the rice on a bed of greens. I did that, and it looked so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a very good side if you want the protein you are making to really shine. It's a nice mild flavored rice. Even with the addition of the green onions the rice is not overpowering, which is exactly what I was looking for. I used brown rice instead of the basmati because I didn't have any basmati rice and I wanted to make it a litttle healthier. I also used a combo of butter alternative and olive oil. Again, to make the rice a little healthier. The spinach is not really needed since it's just for presentation purposes but the color does give it a nice contrast. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty darn good. Used brown rice instead of basmati. Also added garlic as suggested by tat2whttrsh. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I used brown basmati rice and increased the water to reflect the change in rice. I did saute the green onion and a little bit of minced garlic slightly in a tbsp. of EVOO before adding the water. My husband and I thought this was great, especially me but the kids were less than enthused. Whatever, I'm making it again no matter what they say. ;) I REALLY liked the flavor of the brown rice with the green onions, garlic and the lemon. I served this with Coq Au Vin, My Way, which is also from this site. Probably not the best pairing but we ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Meh. Not an interesting flavor, particularly. Nice presentation, but....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This rice was a quick and easy way to change things up! Very lemony and you should know this going in due to the recipe itself. It went very well with Shrimp Francesca recipe from this site and asparagus:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyclechic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States