Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I usually order this at my favorite restaurant, Tuscan Kitchen (Salem NH). I decided to give it a whirl for dinner. Wow, it was delicious. I served it over saffron risotto with a gremalotta on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Deborah Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is excellent. I did not have veal shanks used beef shanks and it was so tender fell off the bone. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made it as written except I used beef as veal shank was not available. For the first try, it was pretty good. I will continue to look around for more Osso Buco recipe to try but will definitely keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very tasty and filling. We served it over mashed potatoes. Nice change from the usual beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this for my birthday along with the ricotta gnocchi recipe on here. Both were amazing and simple. Prepped the Osso first and set aside to cook for 2 1/2 hours. It needs no watching just simmer and forget about it! Veal fell off the bone, no knife necessary! Gnocchi was far more simple than expected. And ingredients you can add are endless. Best birthday dinner ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Cooked this with stew beef because we don't like veal. It came out wonderful. Instead of a can of tomatoes I chopped 4 plums up and sauteed them with the other veggies and then used a cup of wine and a can of chicken broth to get the liquid. I also used the pancentta when I sauteed since this is how real osso buco is made. I also added a bunch of fresh (instead of dried) thyme, basil, rosemary and a few bay leaves in a cheesecloth while it cooked, it actually made the dish what it was... I used polenta as a base. Everyone gobbled it up and the rest of the gravy we will use on some rice for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I tried the recipe and cooked it in the crockpot using beef broth mixed with the herbs and added two sliced sweet potatoes. I covered the sweet potatoes with the remainder of the ingredients and then poured 2 - 8 oz cans of tomato sauce on top. I cooked it in the crockpot on low for 10 hours. It was very good with cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is delicious! Savory, rich and full flavored....cant miss with this recipe! Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is my Italian mother-in-law's favorite recipe. She had described it to me and I had never heard of it but searched the recipe out. So glad I did. A couple of things I changed based on my MIL's description was to add large can of crushed tomatoes. Then I bake it in the oven real slow for 3-4 hours (after browning the veal shanks). When done I remove the shanks to a serving platter and use my immersion blender (or processor) to smooth out the sauce. (My Italian in-laws don't have sauce - they call it gravy) Then I serve sauce over spaghetti or linguini, broccoli rabe, and shanks. This is absolutely delisious! This is now my "go to" menu when having guests over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We loved this! Made a couple of changes....instead of tomato sauce, used a can of Campbell's tomato bisque and used red wine instead of the water. When I got the meat in the sauce, it didn't cover the meat so I added a can of beefy mushroom soup as well. The flavor was awesome! Decided also to add fresh mushrooms about 20 minutes before it was done. It took just under 2 hours and was perfect! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States