Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I liked it - followed nixter's review and added a splash of balsamic vinegar to the tomatoes/onion. I soaked the chopped red onion in a small bowl of water while the orzo was cooking so it would take out some of the "bite". Subbed feta for the gargonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I thought it was fantastic and so did my dinner guests! I can see that this is an incredibly versatile recipe-- next time I'll change it up a bit but I liked it just as is... and it used up a few ingredients I've had in my pantry for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this with Garlic Chicken from this site and a simple arugula and balsamic salad. It tasted like it took me hours, but it was the fastest, easiest dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Jake said there were too many onions so do less next time or on onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I make this all the time - it is fantastic. I use grape tomatoes instead of cherry, and feta instead of gorgonzola. Sometimes I use fat free feta to lower the fat/calories, it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this recipe with the following changes: no onion, chicken broth instead of veg, feta instead of Gorgonzola and added cooked sliced chicken breast to orzo as it cooked. It got mixed reviews from the family. I mixed mine together and loved it, but I knew what to expect because I cooked it. The cheese started to melt and was gooey delicious. My oldest (17) ate it mixed together but I didnt get a comment, My 13yo son ate only the orzo chicken mixture as he doesn't like tomatoes and liked it (which is a relief or I would've been making a whole nother dinner) My 11yo daughter tried it but didn't care for the mixture so dumped it and ate the plain orzo/ckn like my son and ate the whole bowl. So, it worked out for the multiple different palettes in my household and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My husband and I really love this recipe! It goes really well with steak. We use goat cheese instead of gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this tonight. Reduced oil to 1.5 tbsp, reduced onion to 1/2 onion. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I used 4 Roma tomatoes instead of the cherry tomatoes. I added 1 lb grilled chicken breasts, diced and 1 oz grated Parmesan cheese. Once the orzo was cooked, I added the diced chicken and the tomato mixture and topped with the Parmesan. I eliminated the gorgonzola. It was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This dish was really good! I used feta cheese instead of gorgonzola and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Used feta since that was what I had. I browned the orzo for about 2 min. then added onion for another 2. Hubby LOVED it. We ate the whole batch. Great way to use a pile of fresh garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States