Orzo with Parmesan and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Definitely a keeper! I cut down on the cheese (used 1/4c instead of a full 1/2c) and increased the broth a bit. Use fresh basil for the best taste. Great simple recipe for Orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Absolutely delicious. This is one of the only recipes on this entire website that is 100% spot-on. Usually the recipes are good but need a bit of tweaking. This one, however, is perfect and produces a fantastic side to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was so easy and pretty good. My 7 yo loved it. I can see this getting made fairly regularly around our house. I didn't change the recipe at all, but I did accidentally put in 2/3 cup of parmesan instead of 1/2 - was multi-tasking and didn't realize what I had done until cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Had this last night and we loved it. Unfortunately I didn't have fresh basil and had to substitute some dried Italian spices but can't wait to try it with the fresh herbs this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was very good and easy to make. I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought it was yummy but it was a little sticky. Next time I will leave a little less liquid absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XUXU22
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this twice and forgot all about the parmesan and basil. I mixed sausage and spinach to it and it was pretty amazing, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I fried the orzo, added the broth and cooked 15 min on low. Then, because I didn't have enough Parmesan cheese or fresh basil, I added about 3-4 T goat cheese and fresh dill from my neighbor. I could have added a little bit more goat cheese and dill but everyone loved it. Can't wait to try it with basil and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Liked it, but followed the recipe exactly and it got a little clumpy when all mixed together. I cooked it at the minimum cook time and noodles were soft. I may try adding a little water next time. And there will be a next time because the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I had never made orzo before, but really wanted to give it a try. Was worried this would be very difficult to get correct, without over/under cooking or drying out. It turned out DIVINE! My boyfriend came home from the grocery store with a surprise one night- live lobsters! They were on sale. So we needed to throw something together quickly to have with them. I had already bought the orzo in anticipation of trying this recipe, and we have a fresh basil plant. The ingredients are so minimal that it's something you can always have on-hand! I added some sauteed mushrooms, onion and spinach to give our meal some veg. You could literally add anything you like to this dish! Threw in some extra spices- dash of nutmeg, red pepper flakes, garlic powder. Family requested this to be in our regular rotation now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States