Orzo with Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was a very delightful recipe. We had a difficult time finding ORZO but once we did I would not cook it with anything else. All of the ingredients mixed well with eachother - the artichokes, spinach, chicken, orzo, panchetta, and pine nuts combined together was sooooo tasty! For next time I think I will include a little more pine nuts and panchetta. Be careful not to overcook the orzo because it is liable to fall apart very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Wow this was incredible. We just loved the combination of ingredients and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This recipe turned out very good - it had much more flavor than I'd anticipated. Since all I had on hand was marinated artichoke hearts, I drained them and used in place of plain artichoke hearts. I also used less pasta than the recipe called for. We will definitly have this for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I loved this recipe because of all the different flavors mixed together. I would definately use less orzo next time, about half and just add more if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a very good recipe and comes together quickly! I didn't have any cooked chicken on hand so I marinated cubed chicken breasts in greek salad dressing then grilled them. Deeelish! I agree, too, with others who suggest cutting the orzo by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I also had to make alterations, but loved the end result...used 1/2 the orzo, actually used some beer and red wine vinegar for the liquids, and toasted almonds for nuts (each what I had on hand). I've sprinkled some romano/parmesan on top and think it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was excellent, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very tasty with the following changes. I sauteed cubed chicken breast in garlic, salt and olive oil beforehand. I added mushrooms to the recipe and sauteed them in olive oil, garlic and wine and then added the spinach and artichokes. I used marinated artichokes and added the liquid from the jar to the mix. Then add the cooked chicken and 1/2 to 3/4 of a package of dry italian dressing mix. This is key! Simmer for a few minutes before adding it to the orzo, pancetta and pinenuts. You don't need to necessarily add the balsamic vinegar at the end because there is tons of flavor but it is personal preference. Serve with grated parmesan cheese and YUM you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was an excellent weekday meal. We loved it and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I recently made this dish when we had another couple over for dinner and it was delicious! The flavors are distinct yet not overpowering of one another. Orzo did stick together a bit, so I may add some olive oil to it when adding the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Wittkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States