Orzo with Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Waaaaay too much orzo. I did not use red pepper flakes or bacon, and maybe due to that, the flavors where not unified until I added two cups of freshly shredded parmesan cheese. It is a great way to use leftover chicken and fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I recently made this dish when we had another couple over for dinner and it was delicious! The flavors are distinct yet not overpowering of one another. Orzo did stick together a bit, so I may add some olive oil to it when adding the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Wittkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Used Foster Farms soy bacon for lipid reduction reasons. Worked just fine. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I really liked the idea of these ingredients together, but I used marinated artichokes as some reviewers suggested and just wasn't crazy about the taste - needs some adjustment with the balsamic vinegar too. I will probably try again, using mushrooms instead of artichokes and maybe just marinate the chicken with balsamic instead of making it part of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This one was just ok for us. I didn't add the spinach because my bag was in a sorry state. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. We love all the ingrediants just didn't like this combo. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was an excellent weekday meal. We loved it and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was very easy and light. We enjoyed the blend of flavors. THIS WAS OUTSTANDING WITH FETA CHEESE! Sundried tomatoes are great in it too. I would recommend the use of marinated artichokes, however; I used both and the marinated ones were much better. I also used some of the marinade in place of the balsamic vinegar, since hubby has not learned to adore it yet. Recipe was still yummy with the omission of spinach (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This had great flavors, but the ingredient proportions seemed off. way too much pasta and spinach, and not nearly enough pine nuts or red pepper flakes. still, a great flavor. next time I will add more pancetta, more artichokes, more seasoning and less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very tasty with the following changes. I sauteed cubed chicken breast in garlic, salt and olive oil beforehand. I added mushrooms to the recipe and sauteed them in olive oil, garlic and wine and then added the spinach and artichokes. I used marinated artichokes and added the liquid from the jar to the mix. Then add the cooked chicken and 1/2 to 3/4 of a package of dry italian dressing mix. This is key! Simmer for a few minutes before adding it to the orzo, pancetta and pinenuts. You don't need to necessarily add the balsamic vinegar at the end because there is tons of flavor but it is personal preference. Serve with grated parmesan cheese and YUM you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was excellent, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States