Orzo with Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
One Word: AWESOME! I absolutely loved this recipe. I am glad I read some of the other reviews before making it. I only used a half a box of the orzo(which was just enough) and I marinated the cubed chicken for 2 hours in some zesty Italian dressing with a tablespoon of hot sauce. At the end I put a tablespoon of corn starch in 3 tablespoons of white wine and a little water to thicken the wine sauce and let cool a little then drained it just so there was a coating of the sauce all over the chicken and spinach. I also used 3 strips of regular bacon cooked extra crispy b/c that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The flavors were excellent! My husband said that I definitely had to keep this on the recipe list and it is the best dish that I have made since we got married in May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I also used regular bacon. I couldn't find the other. I didn't use pine nuts because I forgot to pick them up. I cut the Orzo qty in half only because we try to reduce our carb intake. Husband raved about all the flavors, I thought it was delicious. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was my first time ever making orzo and this recipe was GREAT! But, I changed it quite a bit per the other users comments. Definetly would have been too much orzo, so I only used half a box. Instead of panchetta, I used bacon (I couldn't find any at the store)..which I saved and crumbled on top at the end. I didn't use the pinenuts. I used marinated artichokes (including all the juice in the jar) and added chopped up sundried tomatoes (but you can use fresh too). I added italian seasoning, (Mrs. Dash Tomato/Garlic Blend, regular italian seasoning, minced garlic, dried basil, and a whole packet of dry italian dressing mix) when sauteeing the chicken and veggies. The flavor combo was amazing. It was even better cold the next day. I will definetly be making this again:) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Pine nuts are key to keeping this dish from having too much of a mushy texture. Watch-out though, they go from browned to burnt pretty quickly, so keep an eye on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was amazing. I added in asparagus and mushrooms. I also used leftover rotessire chicken. First time using orzo and didn't keep a close enough eye on it and burnt the bottom layer in the pan. Other then that it came out perfect and could have ate the entire thing myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I liked the recipe although I could do with less onions. It also needed something, but I couldn't put my finger on it. Perhaps some cheese? A little more bacon? I noticed there was no salt/pepper in it and maybe that would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This came out really good. I will be making this again. Only major change was extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Felt as if it was missing something, a creaminess maybe. The red pepper flakes added a nice heat and the wine gave it a touch of class. Next time I prepare it I will leave out the bacon, it was hard to find and I wasn't sure if I was cooking it all the way through. My boyfriend liked it and I did too but I felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenF88

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
i'm just starting to cook and I've never cooked with pancetta or orzo before... this was delicious and easy. i used half the orzo in the recipe since i was only cooking for 1 tonight - i'll have lunch for a few days at work :) thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States