Orzo with Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I liked this, but I didn't like the calorie count. There was no way I would make something with 700 calories a serving, so I left out the pine nuts and the bacon and added some roasted red peppers. I added balsamic salad dressing in addition to a bit of balsamic, just because I think I lost some flavor without the bacon. I cut the Orzo and also added some mushrooms and topped with goat cheese or parmesian cheese (we had it) My family enjoyed it, even the kids. We will make again (and it's a good excuse to open a bottle of wine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Yum! I agree with everyone else, this is a keeper. I didn't have spinach but I love spinach so I can't wait to try it with that too. The flavor was wonderful. Hate onion so skipped that and didn't have panchetta so used bacon like some other reviewers. Actually fairly quick and easy, when I see this many ingredients I strart to shy away but this wasn't difficult at all. Going to try adding Feta next time too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
very yummy and easy to make. I didn't feel that the red pepper flakes really added anything flavor, just spice. So next time I will skip them. I added feta and black olives, they were a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I thought (and my entire family) this was was not good. Sorry. Very bland and just kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I, too, used marinated hearts, and half of the orzo recommendation. This recipe could have used more chicken, and I forgot to add sun-dried tomatoes, which would have been good. I might try a heartier bacon than pancetta and more red pepper; it was quite mild tasting. Overall, a classy presentation and something quite different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was very good. My husband even ate it and he doesn't like artichokes. We forgot the pancetta, but it was good without. However, the balsamic was a little overpowering. Perhaps it wouldn't have been with the pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a very yummy and easy quick fix for dinner! I like adding some sun-dried tomatoes (the red is pretty in the dish and adds a nice flavor). DEFINITELY cut the orzo down to 1/2 what is called for, and I add more chicken. The pancetta adds a wonderful smoky flavor, and the white wine is perfect. EASY, DELICIOUS and a family fave. What could be better??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Wonderful blend of many flavors. I used half the orzo as many suggested, but I think I'd use more next time. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
i thought this was fantastic - i used turkey bacon and regular spaghetti since that's what i had and it was still perfect. thanks for sharing such a great recipe - it's always nice to add something new to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
One Word: AWESOME! I absolutely loved this recipe. I am glad I read some of the other reviews before making it. I only used a half a box of the orzo(which was just enough) and I marinated the cubed chicken for 2 hours in some zesty Italian dressing with a tablespoon of hot sauce. At the end I put a tablespoon of corn starch in 3 tablespoons of white wine and a little water to thicken the wine sauce and let cool a little then drained it just so there was a coating of the sauce all over the chicken and spinach. I also used 3 strips of regular bacon cooked extra crispy b/c that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States