Orzo with Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I thought the flavor was overly tangy, with both the balsamic and the artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Used half the orzo and subbed prosciutto for the pancetta. Upped the garlic by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This turned into a 2 hour disaster. Made it exactly as written, except for used marinated artichoke hearts. Was very bland, hardly any "juice". Was not good enough to serve, so I put more garlic, parmesan, black pepper in it, made a basic white sauce with more garlic and parmesan, combined the two, and finally it was decent. Will not make again, althought I like the basic idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My husband and I absolutly loved this recipe. I used a little chicken broth instead of using the water from the artichokes. I also used less spinach and added plum tomatoes halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissaLissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was pretty good, but I added some roasted red peppers, greek olives and feta cheese. That seemed to give it just the kick it needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars are the alterations I made and that it still wasn't perfect. But overall, love the idea and using fresh/organic ingredients. Followed many other reviewers suggestions: Used Marinated Artichoke Hearts Added sundried tomatoes, black olives and ready to eat edamame Left out onions because none of us like them. Used turkey bacon instead of panchetta dbled recipe for dinner party but still used only 1 bag of pasta. was perfect amt we served w/ rosemary rolls and ceasar salad. Balsamic was a little strong since there weren't any other seasonings used - was going to add packet of dry italian dressing but forgot - will definitely use it next time - wish there was a little more of a sauce - maybe add some corn starch to the liquid at the bottom to thicken it up? But loved the combo of ingredients and leftovers still tasted great - will make again - great for dinner parties with everyone bringing a side or appetizer since is a full meal in 1 pot. ****ammendment - Made this a 2nd time but halved it - added the italian seasoning packet and used balsamic dressing instead of vinegar - also used some corn starch to thicken sauce. I liked it much better w/ the dry italian and thickening up the sauce - will stick w/ balsamic vinegar cause I like the strong flavor - left out chicken for vegetarians and didn't miss it - great veggie meal w/ lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jvfalcon
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious! Hubby asked for chicken and orzo and thought he was going to get a plain and bland dinner. He was pleasantly surprised when I made this recipe for him and has asked for it to be in regular rotation. Only change I made was to make half of the orzo and added some Italian seasoning when I cooked the chicken. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! I took other reviewers advice and used marinated artichoke hearts and added the liquid from the jar also. I added a package of italian dressing powder, sundried tomatoes and feta. Absolutely fantastic. My husband and I both agree that this is one of our all time favourite recipes that we will be making again and again. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used only 1 1/2 tsp. of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States