Orzo Ham Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and thought that it was very good! I didn't have fresh chives, so I had to use dried, and vidalia onion in place of the red onion. I had some plum tomatoes that needed used, so I seeded them and chopped them up instead of the grape tomatoes. I thought the flavors were very nice in this without being too overpowering of any one ingredient and I loved thet I was able to use my leftover easter ham in a new and yummy way! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for the "Recipe Group" We really enjoyed it. I used finely diced red, yellow and orange bell peppers and I also added some finely diced celery. Rather than mixing in the grape tomatoes I used them more as a garnish. This would make for a great summer meal. I will be serving this at a hawaiian themed graduation party. Perfect because it can be made ahead of time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. This salad takes on different flavors as it sits. I made it yesterday for a function today, not adding the tomatoes in until this morning. At first it was overpoweringly oniony. A couple hours later, overpoweringly black peppery. Today....just perfect. Truly amazing-love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
great recipe. I am fairly new to this site. I see recipe group and recipe buzz mentioned often. Can someone tell me what this is. Is it an online group or a neighborhood thing or what? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I loved this. I made it very close to how it's written. I used whole wheat orzo, and I used a packet of Equal for the sugar. I accidentally used about double for the cider vinegar due to carelessness and I was really worried that I ruined it but it did not taste too vinegary at all - phew! (ya I know you're not supposed to measure over the bowl, I was in a hurry!!) We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Its never really fair to change up a recipe and then rate it. But I took into consideration what others have said and what I did have and didn't have in the kitchen. I cut the onions in half, doubled the ham, didn't have green peppers so I added celery for some crunch. All in all....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is good, but I found the red onion a little overpowering after a night in the fridge. I could see leaving the tomatoes out and serving this in tomato "cups" for a change. I'd probably add extra ham the next time. This is a nice way to use up that leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very yummy, but way too much onion!! Next time I will cut back and maybe add some more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
i used 1/2 cup of red onion and it was great. wasn't sure if i would like it, but i think it's going to be a new favorite for get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5dogwoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States