Orzo Ham Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The recipe calls for 2/3 cup of uncooked Orzo (Organic Durum Wheat Semolina-enriched macaroni product) which will yield about 1 3/4 cups when cooked. I did not add all of the black pepper and used garlic salt instead of plain salt. I also added celery seeds and sprinkled the top with paprika. I used the tomatoes as a garnish as some of the family are not fond of them. This salad would also be good with grilled chicken instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 23, April '11. We have never had orzo, so I was excited to try this. It has good flavor, and the longer it sits the flavors meld even better. We think it needs a few more spices - just seems like it is missing something. I will make this again and it will be nice for a different summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. This salad takes on different flavors as it sits. I made it yesterday for a function today, not adding the tomatoes in until this morning. At first it was overpoweringly oniony. A couple hours later, overpoweringly black peppery. Today....just perfect. Truly amazing-love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for recipe group as well - - - giving 3 stars as I'm not quite sure what to think of it. Not that's a bad thing - it's just different. Using two types of mustard is a nice idea, but with the quantities of both, it's a little over powering. The amount of red onion in the salad is strong as well. I'm going to let it sit for a while and then serve tonight on a bed of lettuce. Will come back and re-rate then. UPDATE: Texture and taste does change after letting it sit. For some reason, I felt as though I was eating a cold ham sandwich - weird, I know. So sorry - just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I did use red instead of green bell peppers and Vidalia onion instead of red. The onion almost overpowered this for me. Good flavor from the sauce, seemed to need a little something, I'm not sure what. All in all, a nice pasta salad that is something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for the "Recipe Group" We really enjoyed it. I used finely diced red, yellow and orange bell peppers and I also added some finely diced celery. Rather than mixing in the grape tomatoes I used them more as a garnish. This would make for a great summer meal. I will be serving this at a hawaiian themed graduation party. Perfect because it can be made ahead of time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this today for "recipe group" on Allrecipes. I thought it tasted pretty good. I liked the combination of ingredients. I was surprised though at the mayonaise base. For some reason I was thinking it would be lighter, and it also had a strong mustard taste. I did use stone ground mustard for the dijon, so that may be the reason. I would only use dijon next time and 1 Tblsp. at most. I might also cut the onions back by half or more, for personal preference, as I thought the onion was a little strong. The only main change I really made was using lite mayo and sour cream, which I do in most every recipe. And, I left out the black pepper, which I also do in every recipe, because I don't like it. This is a very filling salad and would work fine as a main dish with the ham in it. I got at most 4 decent sized servings instead of the six. So, I would double if I made it again. The orzo is cooked perfect in the recipe and the salad seems adaptable to slight changes like a macaroni salad, which I liked. With a few changes in the amount of onion, mustard, and black pepper, it is a really good way to use up some leftover Easter ham. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great way to use leftover ham. Very flavorful, easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and thought that it was very good! I didn't have fresh chives, so I had to use dried, and vidalia onion in place of the red onion. I had some plum tomatoes that needed used, so I seeded them and chopped them up instead of the grape tomatoes. I thought the flavors were very nice in this without being too overpowering of any one ingredient and I loved thet I was able to use my leftover easter ham in a new and yummy way! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States