Orzo Ham Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and thought that it was very good! I didn't have fresh chives, so I had to use dried, and vidalia onion in place of the red onion. I had some plum tomatoes that needed used, so I seeded them and chopped them up instead of the grape tomatoes. I thought the flavors were very nice in this without being too overpowering of any one ingredient and I loved thet I was able to use my leftover easter ham in a new and yummy way! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great way to use leftover ham. Very flavorful, easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this today for "recipe group" on Allrecipes. I thought it tasted pretty good. I liked the combination of ingredients. I was surprised though at the mayonaise base. For some reason I was thinking it would be lighter, and it also had a strong mustard taste. I did use stone ground mustard for the dijon, so that may be the reason. I would only use dijon next time and 1 Tblsp. at most. I might also cut the onions back by half or more, for personal preference, as I thought the onion was a little strong. The only main change I really made was using lite mayo and sour cream, which I do in most every recipe. And, I left out the black pepper, which I also do in every recipe, because I don't like it. This is a very filling salad and would work fine as a main dish with the ham in it. I got at most 4 decent sized servings instead of the six. So, I would double if I made it again. The orzo is cooked perfect in the recipe and the salad seems adaptable to slight changes like a macaroni salad, which I liked. With a few changes in the amount of onion, mustard, and black pepper, it is a really good way to use up some leftover Easter ham. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for the "Recipe Group" We really enjoyed it. I used finely diced red, yellow and orange bell peppers and I also added some finely diced celery. Rather than mixing in the grape tomatoes I used them more as a garnish. This would make for a great summer meal. I will be serving this at a hawaiian themed graduation party. Perfect because it can be made ahead of time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I did use red instead of green bell peppers and Vidalia onion instead of red. The onion almost overpowered this for me. Good flavor from the sauce, seemed to need a little something, I'm not sure what. All in all, a nice pasta salad that is something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for recipe group as well - - - giving 3 stars as I'm not quite sure what to think of it. Not that's a bad thing - it's just different. Using two types of mustard is a nice idea, but with the quantities of both, it's a little over powering. The amount of red onion in the salad is strong as well. I'm going to let it sit for a while and then serve tonight on a bed of lettuce. Will come back and re-rate then. UPDATE: Texture and taste does change after letting it sit. For some reason, I felt as though I was eating a cold ham sandwich - weird, I know. So sorry - just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. This salad takes on different flavors as it sits. I made it yesterday for a function today, not adding the tomatoes in until this morning. At first it was overpoweringly oniony. A couple hours later, overpoweringly black peppery. Today....just perfect. Truly amazing-love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 23, April '11. We have never had orzo, so I was excited to try this. It has good flavor, and the longer it sits the flavors meld even better. We think it needs a few more spices - just seems like it is missing something. I will make this again and it will be nice for a different summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The recipe calls for 2/3 cup of uncooked Orzo (Organic Durum Wheat Semolina-enriched macaroni product) which will yield about 1 3/4 cups when cooked. I did not add all of the black pepper and used garlic salt instead of plain salt. I also added celery seeds and sprinkled the top with paprika. I used the tomatoes as a garnish as some of the family are not fond of them. This salad would also be good with grilled chicken instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Made this recipe for the *RECIPE GROUP*. I think this recipe has the potential to be a solid 5* recipe, but needs alot of changes. A few I made (left out the onions, chives, halved the black pepper, and added olives)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States