Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My dilemma was whether to make this a four star or a five star rating, but I'm giving four stars because the dressing wasn't quite right for me. It was perfect until I added it to the salad, and then it got lost. I added at least another tablespoon of the white balsamic vinegar, and that seems to make a big difference. Next time I'll start out with a third of a cup of vinegar and just a little less oil and go from there. The directions for the rice and pasta were right on the mark. I used dried cranberries rather than currants just because that's what I had, and my corn was fresh. I used 1/4 cup of red onion, and I added a little more salt (I used kosher). An addition of about 1/3 cup of toasted slivered almonds is perfect with the rice. These are, for the most part, minor changes (though it sounds like more) for this gorgeous salad. I will definitely make this again! UPDATE: I made this again and upped the vinegar to 1/3 cup, the Dijon to 1 tablespoon, and the salt and pepper a lot! I added almost all the dressing to the warm rice and pasta for several hours before adding all the rest of the ingredients for the last several hours. I owe SUCCESS to my friends on the Recipe Exchange, who graciously aided me in my efforts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent!! This salad has became a family favorite. I skipped the wild rice because I didn't have any on hand, but we love it with orzo only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The best salad i have ever had - fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Used quinoa and wild rice; room for improvement on the dressing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Beautiful. Delicious. Impressive. A nice change from the usual pasta salad or rice salad. Read all the reviews to get some really good ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Looks very pretty. I avoid the mayonaise type sauce ... just put a little bit of olive oil and that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My version had slivered almonds which adds a nice crunch, green onion (in addition to purple) and no bell pepper, but everything else is the same. I never measured anything, just added it until it looked 'pretty'. FABULOUS and a real party pleaser (it's sooo pretty!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
What a fantastic, colorful, delicious, HEALTHFUL recipe! And the possibilities for creativity using this as a base are endless. For example, I didn't have orzo pasta so used brown rice; substituted dried cranberries for the currants; added some diced tomatoes, a bit of chopped broccoli and some sliced black olives; and eliminated the canola oil entirely. My finicky dauthers-in-law had seconds and asked for the recipe! My husband asked me to make it again to take along camping. This is a 10 star recipe in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. It travels well for taking to a summer cookout. I have often substituted different vinegars if I don't have the white balsamic on hand. This is a different twist on pasta salad and has such a good fresh nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This salad was delicious! It was exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe for 15 and served it at a baby shower. Everyone loved it and begged for the recipe. This is definitely a family keeper. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States