Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I love this gorgeous looking dish! It is so colorful and mouthwatering! and tastes spectacular!!! I did not have the wild rice on hand so I skipped it - but I will probably use it next time - as it adds to the colors! I will be making this dish again. The recipe calls for alot of vegetables diced into 3 tbsp. amounts. I woun't cut into 3 different peppers just for 1/4 of the pepper or open a can of corn just for 3 tbs. of corn - so of course I ended up with ALOT of this salad. I doubled the dressing, but I omitted the 1/4 cup canola oil (it would be too greasy) - but added in just the 1/4 cup olive oil. I did not have white balsamic vinegar, so I used regular balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It's so pretty! I made it exactly as instructed and it's yummy. And healthy. Plus, it's a great recipe for those potluck events because of its vegetarian/ vegan ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Excellent. This reminded me of a salad I had at J. Alexander's. It was sooo tasty, not heavy and was an excellent complement to my salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Tastes just like the recipe I had in a restaurant! I did however, add more corn, peppers and used dried cranberries instead of currents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This salad was very tasty. I served it as an appetizer and everyone loved it. Only change I made was that I added dried cranberries to the mixture. Love this, will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricarlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This salad was delicious! It was exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe for 15 and served it at a baby shower. Everyone loved it and begged for the recipe. This is definitely a family keeper. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. It travels well for taking to a summer cookout. I have often substituted different vinegars if I don't have the white balsamic on hand. This is a different twist on pasta salad and has such a good fresh nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
What a fantastic, colorful, delicious, HEALTHFUL recipe! And the possibilities for creativity using this as a base are endless. For example, I didn't have orzo pasta so used brown rice; substituted dried cranberries for the currants; added some diced tomatoes, a bit of chopped broccoli and some sliced black olives; and eliminated the canola oil entirely. My finicky dauthers-in-law had seconds and asked for the recipe! My husband asked me to make it again to take along camping. This is a 10 star recipe in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My version had slivered almonds which adds a nice crunch, green onion (in addition to purple) and no bell pepper, but everything else is the same. I never measured anything, just added it until it looked 'pretty'. FABULOUS and a real party pleaser (it's sooo pretty!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Looks very pretty. I avoid the mayonaise type sauce ... just put a little bit of olive oil and that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States