Orzo and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I doubled this recipe and used fresh tomatoes instead of sun-dried ones. I also used spicy Italian salad dressing and just a little bit of olive oil and lemon juice to taste. I thought the herbs sounded like an odd combination, so I used about 1/4 c. fresh chopped basil, which goes perfectly with tomatoes. With these changes, the salad was very good. I made the day before to allow the flavors to merge, and then just added a little bit of extra dressing right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great recipe, but don't forget to add the tomatoes as it is not listed in the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenny
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is an awesome recipe, and it looks great too. The first time I made it I forgot the step that calls to include oil and lemon juice, and after having made it a second time including those ingredients, I prefer it omitted. I think it would be nice with a bit of fresh squeezed lemon, but the oil is completely unnecessary. The only other thing I changed was I used sliced black olives instead of green because they are cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Nice, light, & flavorful. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I used black olives, goat cheese, and some green beans. Excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I didn't care for the dill in this recipe. I thought it was an odd combination. Maybe I'll try it again with basil. I followed the recipe to a tee, even using fresh herbs. I brought it to 4th of July party. I didn't receive the rave reviews others reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was one of the best tomato salads I have made. I did take the advice of others and cut back on the olive oil. I also added some green onions and added more olives. I did not have any dill and it still tasted great! I did not use any salt because of all the salt in the olives and feta. Will definitely make again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Nice pasta salad! Made this to go with our burgers last night for something a little different. We both liked it! I did make some changes based on personal preference. I really didn't measure - just eyeballed what I thought was about right. I'm sure I doubled the green olives and I added some green onion for a little more color. Rather than using the lemon juice/olive oil dressing, I used a zesty Italian and I didn't mix the feta into the salad - just sprinkled some on top of each serving as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! I didn't even add all the ingredients and it still tasted great. Fresh and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This made a nice lunch. It was easy to prepare the ingredients while the orzo was cooking. I used cherry tomatoes and herbed feta which gave it a kick. I also left out the lemon juice and just tossed with olive oil. Will add more olives next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States