Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious!! I ate it for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is one of my staple recipes I use when having company over. It's very quick to make, and such a nice side dish to any bbq for a summer get together. I follow the recipe pretty closely, the only change I make is I don't boil the shrimp shells in the pasta water. It's one moe step that I don't really feel is needed. Simplicity is key for me :) I also use the basil that's already minced in the tube. I know fresh basil is better- but it still tastes awesome :) I get compliments on this dish all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieFish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a great reciepe for warm weather get togethers. Very light and fresh tasting. The only thing I changed was I sautaed the asparagus pieces with the shrimp and garlic in olive oil, to give it some flavor, and added some grape tomatoes. Thank you so much for our new favorite summer side dish. I know I'll be making this and sharing this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is great, especially with fresh shrimp. I had 2 pounds of shrimp, so I boiled some for later then cooked the pasta in that water. Much easier than using shrimp peels. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made this for work, and it was an instant hit! I added cherry tomatoes and cilantro - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn L
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Fantastic! I made a few twists because I didnt have orzo on hand, white balsamic or fresh basil so I used Orchette, regular balsamic and some dried basil. This was a HIT with my guests for dinner, super easy to prepare, gorgeous presentation and doesnt matter what temperature its served at, so its ideal for a get together. I did not cut up the shrimp or even go through the process of shelling and flavoring the pasta with the shrimp. I did, however, cook the asparagus in the same water as the pasta. For the commenter below who said their asparagus turned brown, they need to remove it from the water when its cooked and immediately put it into cold water to stop the cooking process, it wont brown if it gets shocked immediately. For depth I added some sliced grape tomatoes and some sliced black olives, and now that I've tried it both warm and cold... the flavors really come out after its been chilled overnight! When I do it again I might consider adding some small cubes of cheese, but depends what I have on hand. Try this, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was good, but not great. I made the mistake of preparing this a day ahead. The asparagus was so pretty, but hours later the dressing caused it to marinate and brown. I will make again, but not too far in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Walton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
this was really good and easy to make. i used acini de pepe instead, added more garlic and fresh peas and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. Will definately use often. I added an anchovy and pepper flakes when sauting the shrimp. Nice addition in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States