Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
We eat this about once a week at our house. My only tip would be to add more boullion. You can use beef or chicken. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We loved this recipe. Will be making it often. A nice change from the usual rice. Served it with chicken kabobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Would give 5 and 1/2 if possible. This is the best side dish for so few ingredients. I serve this almost weekly with Lemon Mushroom Herb Chicken (allrecipes), but I do double it as there is a lot of us and we like leftovers. Very good and a kid pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
SO simple and SO good!!! My family loves this side dish...a nice combination of pasta and rice. I prefer to add more bouillon for a little more flavor but am more than pleased to have found this recipe! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was really good. I cut the butter to 1 T. and increased the rice/orzo to 3/4 c. each, with 3 c. of canned low-salt chicken broth (what I had on hand). The butter adds a lot of flavor - and 1 T. is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
this was good and easy, makes a nice fluffy pilaf type rice dish, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I printed the recipe and handed it to my husband when he asked "What's for dinner?". Then I pushed him in the direction of the kitchen with a package of pork chops under his arm (and another recipe!). In place of a bouillion cube, he used Catelli chicken garlic herb (about a teaspoon). My daughter had second and third helpings, as did my husband! Five stars because they liked it so much, and because he didn't even ask me ONE question while making it. Well, other than "where do we keep the orzo?" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
My family LOVED this. Simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
We loved this one! I've finally found a use for that tri-color orzo sitting in my pantry. I followed other reviewers advice and used 1/2 chix broth & 1/2 bouillon, added sauteed onions & garlic. A nice change from ordinary rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States