Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
We eat this about once a week at our house. My only tip would be to add more boullion. You can use beef or chicken. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We loved this recipe. Will be making it often. A nice change from the usual rice. Served it with chicken kabobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
SO simple and SO good!!! My family loves this side dish...a nice combination of pasta and rice. I prefer to add more bouillon for a little more flavor but am more than pleased to have found this recipe! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was really good. I cut the butter to 1 T. and increased the rice/orzo to 3/4 c. each, with 3 c. of canned low-salt chicken broth (what I had on hand). The butter adds a lot of flavor - and 1 T. is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Good, a nice change from just plain rice. Could have used more flavor. Next time I think I'll throw in some extra bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I doubled the bouillon. This was good, but next time I will even add more bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Sorry to be the dud on this recipe but I served this as a side to our pork chop/mashed potato meal and no one really cared for this. I used 2 chicken buillion cubes and sprinkled dry parsley overall for some color but we all wrinkled our faces after tasting this one. HOWEVER...once we started to mix it in with the mashed potatoes on our plates, it wasn't so bad...b/c then we couldn't taste it. Maybe the use of chicken broth instead of water? Additional spices? Not sure but I don't care to try this one again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Initially I was't too crazy about this. However, I didn't want to give up on it because it seemed that it was your basic rice pilaf recipe (which I love!). I tried it again...but this time diced up a small shallot and threw it in while the orzo was browning (I didn't let the shallot brown, just let it sweat and get translucent) and used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. It turned out great! This is a recipe that begs to be played with...you could mix in whatever kind of veggie, spices, cheese that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
this was good and easy, makes a nice fluffy pilaf type rice dish, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States