Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Buttery. Bland, would like to have another recipe with more interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Simple and good. Served it along side of Chicken Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I have been making this rice for years now and I would suggest one change. I am providing this because I read all of the adjustements for the "blandness". Instead of water, use low-fat chicken broth in the same quantity. In fact, I never cook rice with water anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I added about half a package of dry onion soup mix to add some flavour and it turned out great! Beats plain usual rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I doubled the recipe, used 3 bouillon cubes, and then added 2 cloves of garlic, minced, and 1 cup of broccoli slaw to this recipe....it was al total hit, and super easy to make....YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I followed what a few other reviewers were saying about blandness. In my house everyone likes alot of flavor. I added onions and garlic after browning the orzo. For a final added flavor about 1/4 cup of coconut milk. In the last few minutes of steaming the rice a few chopped pieces of scallion. Turned out great. Browning the orzo was time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
As others said, just add more bullion. I also added 2 mashed cloves of garlic and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it. It IS mild, but I liked that part. Not too over powering but yummy and goes with A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My 16 yo sister made this and it came out really good! She is still learning so we had a little complication here and there, ummmm would recommen dissolving bouillion in water before pouring into rice mix, and occaisionally check and stir. Thanks for the recipe, great learning experience!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I melted the butter and sauted a frozen seasoning blend (celery, onions, green and red peppers and parsley) for a few minutes before following the recipe the rest of the way and added a few shakes of garlic salt five minutes before finishing. Very easy, very tasty and extremely satisfying unlike packaged alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Yum! My hubby and I are rice-a-roni lovers and its nice to have a homemade version to do. (cheaper too) As others have said this is definitely a mild recipe, but its an excellent base for variations. I like to mix in peas and parm cheese at the end. The only thing I do differently is use chicken broth instead of water and bouillon (tip - use the low sodium c. broth. Instantly healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States