Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
everyone loved it!! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
As is, it was a little bland. I ended up adding garlic salt and Parmesan cheese and that made it quite delicious and a nice side to our roast chicken. A good crowd pleaser with a few additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I thought this was nice change up. Mild, yes, but still had a good flavor from the toasted orzo & butter. I mainly stuck to the recipe. The one thing I did differently was using a beef bouillon cube instead of chicken because it was what I had on hand. I sped the process up a tad by boiling the water in an electric kettle as I toasted up the rice. It was done in no time! I will make this again as the recipe calls for but perhaps putting adding a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very nice, make sure to brown the orzo maybe add 6-8 oz sliced mushrooms and a handful of frozen peas when you come to the "let sit for 15 min" just toss on top once it has come to a boil and you reduce the heat. I liked a bit more kosher salt, maybe the reduced sodium broth is not necessary with such a short cooking time. Brown in butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
absolutely fabulous! I added some herbal mix season and a bit salt!! yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We really enjoyed this side dish!! I doubled the recipe because I always make extra rice to have for later meals. I also added about .5 tspn of italian seasoning to the browning orzo step. I don't ever buy rice a roni, and I think I've eaten it once in my life,but I LOVED this recipe!! The orzo makes it almost creamy,and makes "rice“ so much better! I also plan on making it often! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Enjoyed this! Browned both rice and orzo in about 1 TBL butter, then added some finely diced onion, 1 can of chicken broth and 1 bouillon cube. Sprinkled with parsley when I removed from heat. Very good side dish with Chicken Dijon and steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe; nice play of textures between the pasta and rice. I did use homemade broth in lieu of boullion, and both starches absorbed the broth and butter flavors nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Yummy. The only reason this is getting four out of five stars is because I used chicken broth rather than bouillon and water. So I didn't follow the exact recipe. Super easy, will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Made this last night for dinner. We found it to be a little bland (didn't use bouillon cube - to much sodium for a sodium restricted diet). Substituted 2 cans of chicken broth for water. To alleviate some of the blandness we topped it off with some pecorino romano grated cheese. Was pretty good with cheese on top. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States