Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Fantastic side dish- I make this all the time, especially with chicken piccata. As it's not SUPER flavorful, I'd recommend adding some additional seasoning, or serving it with a main course that has some kind of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
A very simple recipe that complemented my main entree. I used a heaping tsp. of Better than Bouillon. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is a great side dish. Simple, but it can compliment a variety of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was so so bland when I first made it. But with a sprinkle of garlic powder it was awesome! The 4 stars is for with garlic powder. Without the garlic it was a 1. This makes your orzo go further because of combining it with the rice, which is nice because it keeps the nice orzo texture but orzo is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I diced half onion and 6 baby carrots and sauted them with orzo after they browned. I used vegetable broth instead of water. Very good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was looking for a change from the rice I keep making over and over, and I tried this one. I used low-sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon, and I added parmesan cheese and parsley as the originator suggests (this suggestion showed up when I printed but not on the first page!). I agree that the flavor is mild, but I think it's exactly right as a side dish. The browned orzo adds an interesting texture and appearance to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is a really good "base" recipe. I used half white wine/half water. Deglazed my pan with the wine and then added my water. Added onion and garlic to the mixture and added some pancetta, green peas and shaved parmesan at the end. Really good. Add whatever you like to the base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Oh this was soo easy to make. It was fabulous. I had to make a massive batch for 6 growing kids and my husband. And everyone loved it. I didn't change anything when it came to the recipe or ingredients. Only the change of steps. I have a rice cooker and needed space to cook on the stove. So I did the melting of the butter and browning of the orzo in a skillet, then transferred all the ingredients to my rice cooker, stirred really well and let the rice cooker do it's job. I had no problem with it turning out. Matter of fact it stayed moist and fluffy. And the flavor was really great. I would have done chicken broth instead of bouillon but I had some better then bouillon paste, that made it just rich with flavor and it was awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this recipe exactly according to the directions and it turned out wonderfully! I will agree with some of the reviewers who say it's a tad bland, but there's an easy fix to that. You could even add some onion to this, or garlic powder while cooking. Great base recipe, or equally good salted and peppered at the table. We served it with pork chops w/mushroom gravy and poured a little over the Orzo and Rice after tasting (because it wouldn't be a fair review if I reviewed it with the gravy!) and it was quite good too :) Will make again - thank you C. Crane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Quick and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States