Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought this was pretty bland. If i were to work with this a bit sometime maybe it would be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We love this, serve it with everything. Changed only a little and added 1 can chicken broth instead of bouillon and water an sauteed a little onion with the butter and orzo. A dash of Greek seasoning and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Simple, delicious and makes a great addition to almost any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This reminds me of Rice a Roni only better! To cut back on the sodium I used chicken broth rather than the bouillon cubes. I also used some seasonings that I got from Tastefully Simple called Garlic Garlic ! I can imagine that you could go wild with different ideas to make this dish very versatile!. The family loved this quick and easy side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Fantastic side dish- I make this all the time, especially with chicken piccata. As it's not SUPER flavorful, I'd recommend adding some additional seasoning, or serving it with a main course that has some kind of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
A very simple recipe that complemented my main entree. I used a heaping tsp. of Better than Bouillon. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is a great side dish. Simple, but it can compliment a variety of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was so so bland when I first made it. But with a sprinkle of garlic powder it was awesome! The 4 stars is for with garlic powder. Without the garlic it was a 1. This makes your orzo go further because of combining it with the rice, which is nice because it keeps the nice orzo texture but orzo is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I diced half onion and 6 baby carrots and sauted them with orzo after they browned. I used vegetable broth instead of water. Very good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was looking for a change from the rice I keep making over and over, and I tried this one. I used low-sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon, and I added parmesan cheese and parsley as the originator suggests (this suggestion showed up when I printed but not on the first page!). I agree that the flavor is mild, but I think it's exactly right as a side dish. The browned orzo adds an interesting texture and appearance to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States