Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a very good side dish. I'm glad I took others advice to add a little more seasoning or it would have been bland. I added garlic and onion while I was browning the orzo, and I used one can of chicken broth and 2 bouillon cubes and water to supplement the rest (I did double the recipe). It was very tasty, and even with the extra flavor added, it was a mild dish. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janw262

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Buttery, very easy and a nice side dish and as someone mentioned - goes great with chicken. Tastes a little artificial (used Goya bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Kids and husband gobbled up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was fine. A little too much butter for me. I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and served it with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have cooked my rice in fashion for a long time and it is great way to mix the two things my family love. I saute some onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
It was just OK the first time I made it. Needed adjustment to be delicious. Used a mix of butter/olive oil to brown orzo. Added garlic and rice for about 30 secs before adding chicken broth. Added dried parley, chives, paprika and just a small dash of cayenne and tumeric to make it look like the store bought version. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is a good dish for extremely picky eaters because it is very bland - no flavors to offend anyone here to speak of. Had some orzo and rice in the cabinet so this landed on the menu - thanks for the recipe, my kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
A nice, simple recipe! I read the reviews and added an extra boulion cube, a dash of pepper and a pinch of saphron. So good with fish and veggies. (Used the parmesan tilapia recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This version of the recipe is just a starting point. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and some lemon rind, but I think almost anything can be added. I plan to throw raisins and nuts into this side dish in the future. I also try to use my own stock instead of boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A hit in my house. No changes needed, but we like it with some carrots, mushrooms, and onions added too. Be sure to brown the orzo well before adding the rice, as this gives it a nice, nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States