Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This version of the recipe is just a starting point. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and some lemon rind, but I think almost anything can be added. I plan to throw raisins and nuts into this side dish in the future. I also try to use my own stock instead of boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A hit in my house. No changes needed, but we like it with some carrots, mushrooms, and onions added too. Be sure to brown the orzo well before adding the rice, as this gives it a nice, nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
What a great recipe. It lends itself to any additions quite well. I added some shredded carrot, garlic, onion, and mushrooms. It really was delicious and will change up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I doubled the bouillon, added a little salt and some fresh parsley at the end. I found it to be ok for a side dish. If I make again I will add a few more spices to give it a little more flavor. I will also add more liquid as my rice was crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written and it made a nice change. Next time I will add an extra chicken cube to add more flavor. But my fsmily reslly enjoyed the rice. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was so good. I did add onions and mushrooms to it and pepper. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought this was pretty bland. If i were to work with this a bit sometime maybe it would be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We love this, serve it with everything. Changed only a little and added 1 can chicken broth instead of bouillon and water an sauteed a little onion with the butter and orzo. A dash of Greek seasoning and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Simple, delicious and makes a great addition to almost any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This reminds me of Rice a Roni only better! To cut back on the sodium I used chicken broth rather than the bouillon cubes. I also used some seasonings that I got from Tastefully Simple called Garlic Garlic ! I can imagine that you could go wild with different ideas to make this dish very versatile!. The family loved this quick and easy side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States