Orzo and Potato Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Wow! Doggie-Daddy asked, "Are we out of food?" and I replied, "Why no!" and quickly searched for a recipe involving orzo et voila! -- this recipe certainly did the trick. It's a keeper. While cooking the smell is wonderful: like hashbrowns (potato is in the mix) and I do declare that Parmesan may be omitted. . . I tasted it before pouring on the cheese and it can really be eaten either way. Also added thai pepper for a touch of heat and didn't have carrots so yes! it's a good base to go on -- orzo, potatoes, onions, garlic, butter are the musts for this taste I think. Only thing though, it took me longer than 30 mins. (the simmering alone is 12 mins.) and there's minced, dicing, peeling involved so I'd say it generally would take about an hour instead... or am I just a turtle. Eat it up dudes! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
ehhhh...Didn't do much for me. Was pretty bland, I forgot to top with Parmesean cheese, but I don't think it would have made much of a difference. WIth some tweeking, this has the potential to be an awesome recipie, but for now, blah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is pretty good, definitely a good starting point. I found it a bit bland, personally, but my family loved it. (Usually they say things _I_ like are bland :-p) Adding extra salt, stirring in some crunchy veggies near the end, or adding something spicy such as cayenne could really brighten this dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This makes a nice change to the regular rice/noodle/mashed potato side dish. I used 2 cups of water, and topped it up with tomato juice - for flavor and a little color - when it needed more fluid. I think this would make a good basis for a stew or gumbo - you could add a couple cans of crushed tomatoes, some sliced kielbasa etc etc. Thanks, Betina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this quite often. I love it. I do add extra garlic but, that's it. The Italian seasonings and parmesan are a perfect blen. It's a great side to almost anything. Company is always impressed. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
this turned out totally different than what I expected,but it tasted really good.The cooking time is long but worth it. The parmesan cheese was great as a topping. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I had to add quite a bit of spices and extra garlic but it was a good start to a recipe. I also added the water and boullion with the potatoes as soon as the orzo and garlic was done cooking. Otherwise I think it would have taken longer to cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't have vegetable bouillon, so used chicken broth for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe, and I've used it as a side dish with dinner, and added cubed, grilled garlic sausage to leftovers for lunch (really yummy). Definitely not a dish for when you're in a big hurry, but worth the time it took!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States