Orzo and Potato Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My full-blooded Italian husband LOVED this recipe! He has been asking for it repeatedly since. "This is an easy to make authentic, Italian dish with robust flavors and is very addicting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband and I love this one. I usually increase the carrots, and add a good amount of dried basil. Make sure to cut the potatoes small or it will take a long time to cook. We also like a lot of Parmesan for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Not bad...I had no carrots so used peas and frozen kernel corn instead...it is a bit bland though, and I felt the italian seasoning was overpowering. I will make this again, but will omit the thyme and use more oregano and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a very good recipe but as a side dish. I wouldn't recommend it as a main dish unless you add chicken to it. But, it was very good. I will be making again but as a side dish. Thanks for the recipe. It adds to any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mberube
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This dish was just okay for our family. A little on the bland and mushy side. I don't think you need to soften the veggies so much before adding the water b/c it was like mashed potatoes with orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great texture but BLAND. High Altitude changes: we used about 28oz of liquid (1/2 can broth, filling remainder of can in water + 1 addnl can of water). We let simmer longer than recommended (about 20 minutes) and UNCOVERED to make the water cook away. We could not get the potatoes to get tender before adding the liquids so I'm sure that had something to do with the increased simmering time. GREAT base recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanandelectra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My wife and I cooked this and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJREITER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Great and very simple! I used two cups curly pasta instead of one cup orzo (same amount of water) and it turned out just fine. I completely forgot the parmesan cheese too and it was still tasty! This is a good healthy and hearty meal, the only 'bad' thing in here is the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was REALLY good. The flavors and textures just worked. I needed some new ideas for my vegetarian daughter, but the whole family loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This dish was ok. The flavor was good and my husband liked it, but my 6 year old didn't like it to much. It could have used a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States