Orzo Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Yes I followed what others on the comments said and double the heavy cream and butter, I can't imagine how dry it would have been without doing that. I also added garlic powder, Italian Seasoning, and white pepper in addition to the nutmeg and chives already called for. This was a hit with my very picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was good, but I did a few things differently. I also would've liked to add maybe white wine to the sauce, but didn't have it on hand. I sauteed minced onions and garlic in butter, then added a touch of flour, then added milk and parmesean. I also toasted the orzo before dropping them to boil in chicken broth. This dish was awesome! Very comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
While this was a little bland, it certainly lends itself to being a good side dish for a strong-flavored main dish. I did add some other sauce to this when I finally served it tonight with my dinner. This is a good base. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used really good parmesan and it was still bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This went great with the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan recipe from this site, but as written it's pretty bland. Tasted it as written before adding garlic powder, salt, and white pepper then it was pretty delicious. Used 2% milk since I had no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Hubby's assessment is spot on: "Nondescript. Just orzo." This is sadly lacking in flavor, even though I used an herb medley orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe. This was so good I could eat it all day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
although i like orzo, this recipe did not seem to have much taste to it. was not a hit with my family. i probably would not have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexie02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I thought this was pretty bland...And that's a lot, coming from me. I'm the type of person that prefers "beige" food, so I thought this would be right up my alley. It definitely was not. I did use fresgly grated Parmesan, perhaps that made it more bland (???)...At any rate, I added some Italian Seasoning and a bit of salt. It was edible, just not something I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States