Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe was fantastic to work with. This was my first time attempting Dough art and I was just so pleased with how the dough baked so evenly and flat. Thank you Darlene for sharing this recipe. It will now become our family tradition to make yearly ornaments. I made about 10 Halloween magnets and hanging ornaments and about 15 Christmas magnets and hanging ornaments and I had a ball and I am a grown woman. LOL I loved this dough, now if only I could get my edible cookies to cook this perfectly! Thanks again Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
A few of my ornaments still puffed. I think the key is to use warm water (I seem to remember this from my own childhood) and do a lot of kneading to make sure the gluten in the flour has a workout before cutting or baking. The ones rolled thinnest did not puff. Oh and you must roll S-L-O-W (it's more of a stretching, like a pizza dough) to avoid cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
After a bad allergic reaction last night, I wanted something to keep my still-not-feeling-well daughter quiet but occupied. Nothing says "busy munchkin" quite like the worlds of cookies and clay uniting! :) We did a half-batch for Halloween ornaments. I kneaded the dough for seven minutes and then rolled it about 1/4" to 1/3" thick (I didn't need to use flour on the board), and she loved helping cut the shapes out. We cut out about 10 ornaments, and then I kneaded the scraps for a minute or two and cut out another four. Then I let her use the leftover bits as playdough until it got too crumbly. Oh, and I used the blunt end of a skewer to make holes for hanging. I baked the ornaments at 275 for 45 minutes, let cool, painted/sparkled/glued on beads and ribbons. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing, Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Found this recipe in 2002 and have been making ornaments with it ever since. The kids love the tradition of not only painting the ornaments but making them with this easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I had much sucess with this receipe. I mixed all the ingredients in my Mix Master and then hand kneaded it into a ball before rolling and cutting out with cutters. Smooth the edges of your cut outs before baking as they will not smooth out as with cookies. Great reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It was so fun making these with the kids. I did have to add a little more water to the dough. It may have been because I halved the recipe, not sure though. We made way more ornaments then the recipe stated so be sure to adjust cooking time because ours burnt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My three children and I made this recipe and had a great time. There is very little mess and cleans up great. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is a great recipe/project. It's easy, only uses a few ingredients that are already in most households anyway, the cookies don't puff out or lose their shape while baking, and they bake fast (30 minutes at 300 degrees was fine for me too). This recipemade 30-some ornaments for me, not the 12 stated. It depends what size cut-outs/ornaments you make, that's all. And acrylic paints and interior/exterior glaze/finish work just fine. I'm definitely adding this recipe to my scrapbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABSKITCHEN
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My college-aged daughter and I had so much fun making these ornaments. The dough is really nice to work with. I'm not sure where the submitter got 12 as the number of ornaments - we made a variety of sizes, from about 1" all the way up to 6" and got exactly 40 ornaments. We needed more than 30 mins. for them to dry in the oven, more like an hour. We painted with acrylic paints. The painting took all day. I purchased a "feather tree" and displayed them on there. We plan to make them again next year and give them away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! Fast and Easy.....Just what I'm looking for during the busy Holidays! Great craft for my kids, EVERY year, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilbur, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States