Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
A few of my ornaments still puffed. I think the key is to use warm water (I seem to remember this from my own childhood) and do a lot of kneading to make sure the gluten in the flour has a workout before cutting or baking. The ones rolled thinnest did not puff. Oh and you must roll S-L-O-W (it's more of a stretching, like a pizza dough) to avoid cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I've been using this recipe for years. This is an excellent project for parents and kids to do together, and also to have mementos of their Christmases through the years. TIP: This is WONDERFUL to use for making handprints for Grandparents. Just make a large circle and have the kids do their handprints, bake as usual. (You might have to increase the baking time just a bit.) For those of you who make handprints like me, let the printed dough sit out for about an hour before baking. The dough dries out and it's whiter when baked, which makes a great way for the paint/markers to pop on the handprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe was fantastic to work with. This was my first time attempting Dough art and I was just so pleased with how the dough baked so evenly and flat. Thank you Darlene for sharing this recipe. It will now become our family tradition to make yearly ornaments. I made about 10 Halloween magnets and hanging ornaments and about 15 Christmas magnets and hanging ornaments and I had a ball and I am a grown woman. LOL I loved this dough, now if only I could get my edible cookies to cook this perfectly! Thanks again Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
LOVED THIS RECIPE! I added to it 1 bottle of cheap cinnamon and some nutmeg. They smelled delicous and the dough was very plyable. The smell last about a week. Tip bake for longer than stated at 15 to 20 minutes to time stated. Can even do more time in oven ornaments will not be damaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I had much sucess with this receipe. I mixed all the ingredients in my Mix Master and then hand kneaded it into a ball before rolling and cutting out with cutters. Smooth the edges of your cut outs before baking as they will not smooth out as with cookies. Great reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
The ornaments after baking at 300 for 30 minutes were still doughy. I had to re-bake them for 40 minutes the next day. After they finally hardened, they turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This dough may have worked fine if I was only making Christmas ornaments. Instead I was making a craft/present with my children. Without enough time (or money for that matter) to go to the hobby store and buy clay we hoped that an ornament dough would suit our purposes. We tried to shape some sculptures which the kids would then paint for Dad's birthday. The dough was much too crumbly, and also had a rough texture (from hardening particles) after being in use just 15-30 minutes. I added a couple tablespoons of oil to smooth it out and melt away some of the crusty stuff. The dough was still difficult to work with. Even if I was making ornaments the dought would have been very tough to roll out and keep it sticking together at the same time. I could make one large shape, but I couldn't make say two round balls and then get them to stick to each other. Also, during baking I had problems with lots of cracking. I had to bake tour sculptures (about 1-2" thick) for extra time because they were thick and 3-D (not flat like the cookie cutter ornaments) so by the time the inner core was solid perhaps the extra time had dried the outside too much. Also, the sculptures seemed pretty brittle. Because we painted and varnished them we added some strength, but one that dropped on the wood floor did shatter anyway. So, if you are hoping to use this as a craft dough, we would recommend trying something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is a great recipe/project. It's easy, only uses a few ingredients that are already in most households anyway, the cookies don't puff out or lose their shape while baking, and they bake fast (30 minutes at 300 degrees was fine for me too). This recipemade 30-some ornaments for me, not the 12 stated. It depends what size cut-outs/ornaments you make, that's all. And acrylic paints and interior/exterior glaze/finish work just fine. I'm definitely adding this recipe to my scrapbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The thicker you roll these out, the more likely they are to puff. Roll them out thinly & you'll be thrilled with the results. We use this recipe to make wild bird treats for the winter solstice. Make the ornaments, spread them with peanut butter & put them stick-side down onto a plate of bird seed. We hang them from the trees on solstice for a tasty bird treat & a nice family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It was so fun making these with the kids. I did have to add a little more water to the dough. It may have been because I halved the recipe, not sure though. We made way more ornaments then the recipe stated so be sure to adjust cooking time because ours burnt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Festive Holiday Gifts

Cook up some delicious presents right in your own kitchen.

Holiday Brunch

With a few shortcuts, creating a fancy holiday brunch can be a snap.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States