Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This dough was very easy to roll out, very easy to work with and had minimal puffing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a very fun project for the family! My dough puffed a little, but I may have not rolled it out quite enough. We did these about 15 years ago and still have those. Puffy paint works great, smooth on for all over coverage, and use thinly for details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Wucki McMullin
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and got about 18 ornaments. I followed directions exactly... about half puffed up during cooking. 30 minutes was definitely not long enough for baking... more like 45-55 minutes in order to harden. But kids loved this craft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wucki McMullin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Just made these and a few of them did puff (they were rolled thicker than the ones that did not puff). My daughter and I had fun together making these and we plan on painting them in a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This worked great for ornaments. I was able to get about 40 out of one batch of dough. I would definitely recommend kneading the dough a lot. My first batch puffed up, while the second one (which had to be re-worked & rolled out) did not. I also had to re-bake them for an additional 30 minutes to get them to harden all the way. Good, easy project for my 5yr old son & I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colstrip, Montana, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My children and I made ornaments for all the children in our family here and in Florida! They turned out great, but needed to be cooked for an additional 45 min or so. However, they were a great gift and well loved by everyone! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe was awesome! It was so supple and smooth. I didn't need flour for rolling out at all. I did use a little more water than called for and did bake about 45 minutes. Wonderful, our ornaments were beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My 3 year old really enjoyed cutting these out with me - but there was no possibility of him working the dough - I even got a workout! Some of the ornaments were puffy and the paint we used made some of the surface of the ornaments come off. All in all, the ornaments kept their shape beautifully. My yield was more along the 3 dozen size, probably due to the size of the cutters! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeza Herald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Turned out ok. Having a playdate with 3 year olds and it was easy to prepare. I had to add a little water and vegetable oil to 'moisten' the dough. It's very crumbly. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg. Cool recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was a great idea! My 2 little cousins loved making them and were really excited to show them off! And hang them on the Christmas Tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Koehler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States