Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This worked great for ornaments. I was able to get about 40 out of one batch of dough. I would definitely recommend kneading the dough a lot. My first batch puffed up, while the second one (which had to be re-worked & rolled out) did not. I also had to re-bake them for an additional 30 minutes to get them to harden all the way. Good, easy project for my 5yr old son & I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colstrip, Montana, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My children and I made ornaments for all the children in our family here and in Florida! They turned out great, but needed to be cooked for an additional 45 min or so. However, they were a great gift and well loved by everyone! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe was awesome! It was so supple and smooth. I didn't need flour for rolling out at all. I did use a little more water than called for and did bake about 45 minutes. Wonderful, our ornaments were beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My 3 year old really enjoyed cutting these out with me - but there was no possibility of him working the dough - I even got a workout! Some of the ornaments were puffy and the paint we used made some of the surface of the ornaments come off. All in all, the ornaments kept their shape beautifully. My yield was more along the 3 dozen size, probably due to the size of the cutters! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeza Herald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Turned out ok. Having a playdate with 3 year olds and it was easy to prepare. I had to add a little water and vegetable oil to 'moisten' the dough. It's very crumbly. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg. Cool recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was a great idea! My 2 little cousins loved making them and were really excited to show them off! And hang them on the Christmas Tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Koehler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This dough worked perfectly. We used cookie cutters. They turned out great, didn't puff up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought this was perfect. Very quick and easy. I didn't knead it for 10 minutes, my 2 year old didn't have the patience for that. Probably more like 5 minutes. I didn't need flour for rolling it out, I just rolled it on our counter top (granite) and it didn't stick at all. Before baking I used a straw to punch a hole in the top of each one. After cooking and cooling, I mixed glue with glitter and my daughter and I painted it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The thicker you roll these out, the more likely they are to puff. Roll them out thinly & you'll be thrilled with the results. We use this recipe to make wild bird treats for the winter solstice. Make the ornaments, spread them with peanut butter & put them stick-side down onto a plate of bird seed. We hang them from the trees on solstice for a tasty bird treat & a nice family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I think I may have needed to add a little more water to the dough because it was super pain to roll out... which I think I've read could be do to the weather here so I'm not counting that against the recipe. the kids had alot of fun painting them and they look really cute... Thanks for something fun to do with the kids..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Festive Holiday Gifts

Cook up some delicious presents right in your own kitchen.

Holiday Brunch

With a few shortcuts, creating a fancy holiday brunch can be a snap.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States