Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
What a great craft for after thanksgiving day feast! This is our new thanksgiving day tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Perfect for the lil ones.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've never made ornaments from dough before and this was great. I questioned the salt content but I guess it works. The only negative thing I would say was my ornaments puffed up in the baking process even after I let them sit out on the counter for about 30-45 minutes prior to baking and the dough has hard to knead on a floored surface, so I just placed the whole batch into a plastic ziploc bag and grabbed out a small porton at a time and kneaded in my hand before rolling out on a floured surface. This made it work for me and the dough didn't dry out in that process before cutting them out. But I guess the end results is what's important. The kids and I had fun decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Dont roll out too thick or it wont bake well. It was great, the kids loved it, but my husband and I were still enjoying it long after the kids were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Corn
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe! easy cheap and kid friendly! time is key, you must work quickly, I did add 1 TBSP of vegetable oil to add working time, since kids roll slowly :). As one reviewer stated, roll slowly and roll them thin as well, under 1/4 inch is best. I did add 20 minutes extra cooking time as mine were rolled at about 1/4 inch. I did not poke holes in them, Instead I let the kiddos glue metal ornament hangers to the backs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these as written, and they turned out pretty well. I rolled out to somewhere between 1/4-1/8 inch thick, and some still puffed up a bit, so I think next time I'll make sure to roll out to only about 1/8 in thick. I recommend spraying with polyurethane before painting, as well as after - I painted right on the surface of the dough, let dry overnight, and the next morning the paint was completely crackled all over - the moisture of the paint was sucked up by the ornaments. It still works for us (gives it an aged look), but if you want to avoid this spray a moisture-locking layer before painting. GIFT IDEA: I cut out gingerbread men shapes with my 4 year old son, and he painted them himself to give to his cousins. We'll be tying them onto the packaging of their "real" gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This dough was very easy to roll out, very easy to work with and had minimal puffing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a very fun project for the family! My dough puffed a little, but I may have not rolled it out quite enough. We did these about 15 years ago and still have those. Puffy paint works great, smooth on for all over coverage, and use thinly for details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wucki22
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and got about 18 ornaments. I followed directions exactly... about half puffed up during cooking. 30 minutes was definitely not long enough for baking... more like 45-55 minutes in order to harden. But kids loved this craft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Just made these and a few of them did puff (they were rolled thicker than the ones that did not puff). My daughter and I had fun together making these and we plan on painting them in a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Festive Holiday Gifts

Cook up some delicious presents right in your own kitchen.

Holiday Brunch

With a few shortcuts, creating a fancy holiday brunch can be a snap.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States