Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Vizoco
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made these with the grandchildren tonight and they loved it! Very easy recipe to follow. I had a few that came out slightly puffed but no big deal. I tried to roll out thin but they were about 1/4 thick. I poked the hole in the dough before backing and just rounded them out some more on the back as soon as they came out of the oven. The kids used glitter glue to color them and they loved the way they came out. It was a fun night that will leave a happy memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as directed, and it was so easy to work with, kneading, rolling out, etc. I used my Christmas cookie cutters to make shapes for ornamnents. I used a straw to poke a hole before baking. After baking I had them air drying for a couple of days until completely hardened. Can't wait to see what they look like after my kids paint them!! I plan to make another batch for my Sunday School classes' Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I found this to be a pretty excellent recipe for ornaments. I only had 2-3 puff up on me out of 18. You MUST roll the dough out thin to get them to not puff on you. I halved the recipe and tomorrow I'll have 5 kids decorating a couple each. I did have to let mine bake 10 more minutes but overall EXCELLENT!! SO MUCH FUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These turned out JUST like the ones my mom made when I was a kid. The dough did puff a little bit, even using warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
this is an alright recipe i will try it again mine kinda puffed a little and also had them in the stove for over an hour but it was fun for the kids and didn't need to flour bench should have floured the tray... very authentically homemade :) great for the grandparents :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Came out awesome, My kids ornaments were small so they baked in less time, just watch them. The time is variable on how thick/large your cutouts are. Great easy inexpensive recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I liked the ease of this recipe. However using my cookie cutter I wound but with over 30 ornaments, not 12.I added powder ginger, orange and vanilla.The smell is great, like animal crackers, and a bit of color .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMcLellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was so simple and fun to make. We made Star Wars "ornaments" as a party favor for my son's birthday party. We had sandwich cutters in the shape of the death star and we used them to cut the dough. I did take the advice of adding warm water and making sure to roll out very slowly. I think that they turned out great and I can't wait to see what the kids think! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We followed it to a T and it turned out fantastic...great consistency, not at all too sticky, and did not puff up too much in the oven. The kids had a blast. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I was able to make over 30 ornaments for my class to decorate with this recipe. Super easy- minus the dreaded kneeding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States