Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My dough puffed up too. I forgot to try the warm water. After the first batch, I placed another cookie sheet on top if the unbaked ornaments & weighted it down with a glass 9x11 baking dish. This worked great. Thinner is better too but reduce your time by 5 min. Puffed ones will still look cool for Santa or his sack full of presents:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Was a hit with my son and we used poster paint on them. They were easy and inexpensive to make. I did have to add a touch more water to blend in all the flour. Also had to bake for about an hour. Was a good fun project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe and kept dough I wasn't working with in a closed ziplock bag. And added tiny bit of water to hands as needed. When rolling out the trimming I used a tiny bit of oil on my fingers to moisten dough. So dough I added coloring too, and some I added cinnamon extract to and still others I added orange extract too. I used a 250 degree oven and regularly turned cookies over to insure even drying. I let them take their time and did not experience puffing. They are hard and not brittle, I accidently dropped one of the gingerbread men and it is still intact without even a blemish. I will definitely use this recipe again. I have allowed all day for drying prior to painting. I plan to spray with polyurethane and then paint and then a final coat of polyurethane. I will add a photo of all my lovely ornaments when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamiesx3
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great craft project to do with kids. I have cookie cutters for all seasons/holidays and have done Easter ornaments with my kids and niece and Christmas ornaments with my kids. They always have fun painting them and giving them to the grandparents :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
At first I wasn't really liking the dough. It was very crumbly. After adding slightly more water, it was more plyable. All 3 of my boys (ages 11,9 & 4) were able to roll and cookie cut there own ornaments. A few of the thicker ones seemed to puff. We got 37 ornaments cut and I had to throw the rest of the dough out. It makes PLENTY! Real easy and fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent all the way around...cool water is definitely the right thing to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vizoco
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made these with the grandchildren tonight and they loved it! Very easy recipe to follow. I had a few that came out slightly puffed but no big deal. I tried to roll out thin but they were about 1/4 thick. I poked the hole in the dough before backing and just rounded them out some more on the back as soon as they came out of the oven. The kids used glitter glue to color them and they loved the way they came out. It was a fun night that will leave a happy memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as directed, and it was so easy to work with, kneading, rolling out, etc. I used my Christmas cookie cutters to make shapes for ornamnents. I used a straw to poke a hole before baking. After baking I had them air drying for a couple of days until completely hardened. Can't wait to see what they look like after my kids paint them!! I plan to make another batch for my Sunday School classes' Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I found this to be a pretty excellent recipe for ornaments. I only had 2-3 puff up on me out of 18. You MUST roll the dough out thin to get them to not puff on you. I halved the recipe and tomorrow I'll have 5 kids decorating a couple each. I did have to let mine bake 10 more minutes but overall EXCELLENT!! SO MUCH FUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These turned out JUST like the ones my mom made when I was a kid. The dough did puff a little bit, even using warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Festive Holiday Gifts

Cook up some delicious presents right in your own kitchen.

Holiday Brunch

With a few shortcuts, creating a fancy holiday brunch can be a snap.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States