Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe worked great! Followed the directions exactly, except I only made a half recipe. I think the key to smooth ornaments is actually kneading it for 10 minutes. The dough was so smooth after ten minutes, there was no cracking. Had a little bit of puffing, but the ornaments I made were circles with at least a 5-inch diameter (for handprints). Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I added 1 Tablespoon of oil and kneaded them really well before rolling them out. I rolled them to about 1/4 inch and they cooked great in 30 minutes! They didn't puff up and hardened up nicely! I sprayed them with a clear coat before painting then painted them and applied another clear coat and they are beautiful! The kids had tons of fun making these! I also made large thick (Over an inch) hearts with their hand-prints and the year on them for a keepsake (not an ornament) and baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours and they were perfect as well... Definitely keeping this easy recipe around for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe was so easy and worked great! My kids loved painting them and had such a great time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe in the past but didn't knead it. I didn't have that information. Before I painted I used mod-podge as a primary coat then painted them with a good quality paint and then finished with mod-podge hardener. They are very pretty. I customized them with the names of the recipients and dated them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy MIlne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My dough puffed up too. I forgot to try the warm water. After the first batch, I placed another cookie sheet on top if the unbaked ornaments & weighted it down with a glass 9x11 baking dish. This worked great. Thinner is better too but reduce your time by 5 min. Puffed ones will still look cool for Santa or his sack full of presents:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Abraham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Was a hit with my son and we used poster paint on them. They were easy and inexpensive to make. I did have to add a touch more water to blend in all the flour. Also had to bake for about an hour. Was a good fun project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe and kept dough I wasn't working with in a closed ziplock bag. And added tiny bit of water to hands as needed. When rolling out the trimming I used a tiny bit of oil on my fingers to moisten dough. So dough I added coloring too, and some I added cinnamon extract to and still others I added orange extract too. I used a 250 degree oven and regularly turned cookies over to insure even drying. I let them take their time and did not experience puffing. They are hard and not brittle, I accidently dropped one of the gingerbread men and it is still intact without even a blemish. I will definitely use this recipe again. I have allowed all day for drying prior to painting. I plan to spray with polyurethane and then paint and then a final coat of polyurethane. I will add a photo of all my lovely ornaments when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamiesx3
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great craft project to do with kids. I have cookie cutters for all seasons/holidays and have done Easter ornaments with my kids and niece and Christmas ornaments with my kids. They always have fun painting them and giving them to the grandparents :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
At first I wasn't really liking the dough. It was very crumbly. After adding slightly more water, it was more plyable. All 3 of my boys (ages 11,9 & 4) were able to roll and cookie cut there own ornaments. A few of the thicker ones seemed to puff. We got 37 ornaments cut and I had to throw the rest of the dough out. It makes PLENTY! Real easy and fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent all the way around...cool water is definitely the right thing to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Butter Puff Biscuit Dough

A much faster and easier way to make puff pastry at home.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States