Original Old Bay® Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Being from the east coast Old Bay is something I grew up with. When I made this coleslaw OMG ! For those who don't care for bell pepper, try using celery instead. I use lemon juice instead of vinegar sometimes to switch it up. Add some shrimp or crab and it's completely over the top. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I am not a huge coleslaw fan, but am learning to eat it. This was good and the Old Bay made it a little different. I halved the recipe and there was too much dressing, so that's something to keep in mind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I really liked this coleslaw. I dont make it much, because I have to adjust the sugar so much until it isnt as sweet as candy. This one was great with only 2 tsp. I also really liked the addition of the Old Bay seasoning. I had the garlic and herb flavored one and that worked fine. For ease I used a 10oz, un-measured bag of shredded cabbage from Trader Joes. I also used pre-shredded carrots I always have on hand anyhow. I minced the onion and blended with the vegetables I kept separate from the dressing until serving. I tried some with and without the green peppers. I much liked it without. The green peppers sort of make it taste different than classic coleslaw. I would make this again for a family bbq. Only change is, I would probably double it as this only makes about 6 servings. I would also leave out the green pepper and mix in the dressing, again, right before serving. Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Oh, this WILL be my go-to slaw recipe. Love this! Wonderful with any seafood or any meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
We quite enjoyed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Best coleslaw I have ever had! A must make side for all summer get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I didn't even know I liked coleslaw. Now I love it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
No one in my family liked this at all. The taste was just terrible for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a very good recipe, and quick and easy to make. I made the sauce exactly as listed, though used light Miracle Whip. The Old Bay Seasoning gives it a little bit of a refreshing bite. I used a bag of shredded slaw cabbage with carrots instead of chopping my own. The recipe made a perfect amount of sauce for one bag of slaw cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
The Old Bay seasoning is subtle, but certainly recognizable. Nice option for coleslaw, we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States