Original NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I did double the amount of dark chocolate chips in this recipe but besides that, I made no changes or substitutions. The nuts I used were chopped pecans. Out of the whole batch, only a handful remain. This may be our new favorite cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Classic chocolate chip cookie with an updated dark chocolate flavor! Like others, I found the amount of chocolate chips needed to be increased and opted to leave the nuts out because I was giving these away on a cookie tray. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love the original toll house recipe, I did use only 1 cup of chips and added 2 cups chopped walnuts, that's how we lilke them. I enjoyed making this recipe because I only use dark chips in my cookie recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Same recipe as the original using the semi-sweet chocolate chips except this uses dark chocolate chips which is wonderful for us dark chocolate fans. Because I did not add nuts (using these for gift tray and not sure who may have a nut allergy) I did add more chocolate chips to fill them up but that's the only reason. The dark chocolate chips are bigger and the bag is a 10 oz. bag instead of a 12 oz. bag. For a thicker cookie that does not spread flat use only 1 stick (1/2 c.) of butter and bake approx. 8 to 9 minutes. The outside is lightly crisp and the inside is somewhat soft and gooey. These are a classic cookie that will never ever get old or tired. I simply love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Perfection. I doubled the vanilla and used walnuts. Amazing as always. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were fantastic, they had the right mixture of chewy on the inside and crunching on the edges I love! They never got hard or crumbly afterwards, but I keep my cookies in a sealed tin to prevent air from making them hard over a time period. The key is to use softened not melted butter and DON"T overmix. I toss my chocolate chips in with the dry ingredients to ensure even distribution and prevent overmixing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Dark Chocolate or Milk Chocolate - I just love these cookies. I always have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Ohhhhh!!! just fabulous. Make sure to have a very tall glass of milk with these! I haven't made Toll House cookies in quite some time. And these are wonderful. My suggestion is that in between scooping and placing on pans...I keep the bowl of cookie dough in the frig. I also do not grease my baking pans, I prefer parchment for all my cookie baking. I'll make again. The dark chocolate totally made these worth while. Easy recipe, easy stock of ingredients on hand. Super fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The dark chocolate lovers in the family absolutely loved these. Toll House cookies set the standard by which all other chocolate chip cookies are judged. These won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Well, if you've made chocolate chip cookies a million times like I have, this recipe is already ingrained in your head. I cut the sugar in half (you won't even know the difference and it cuts out some calories) and these dark chocolate chips are fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States