Original NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I did double the amount of dark chocolate chips in this recipe but besides that, I made no changes or substitutions. The nuts I used were chopped pecans. Out of the whole batch, only a handful remain. This may be our new favorite cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Classic chocolate chip cookie with an updated dark chocolate flavor! Like others, I found the amount of chocolate chips needed to be increased and opted to leave the nuts out because I was giving these away on a cookie tray. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love the original toll house recipe, I did use only 1 cup of chips and added 2 cups chopped walnuts, that's how we lilke them. I enjoyed making this recipe because I only use dark chips in my cookie recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Same recipe as the original using the semi-sweet chocolate chips except this uses dark chocolate chips which is wonderful for us dark chocolate fans. Because I did not add nuts (using these for gift tray and not sure who may have a nut allergy) I did add more chocolate chips to fill them up but that's the only reason. The dark chocolate chips are bigger and the bag is a 10 oz. bag instead of a 12 oz. bag. For a thicker cookie that does not spread flat use only 1 stick (1/2 c.) of butter and bake approx. 8 to 9 minutes. The outside is lightly crisp and the inside is somewhat soft and gooey. These are a classic cookie that will never ever get old or tired. I simply love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Perfection. I doubled the vanilla and used walnuts. Amazing as always. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were fantastic, they had the right mixture of chewy on the inside and crunching on the edges I love! They never got hard or crumbly afterwards, but I keep my cookies in a sealed tin to prevent air from making them hard over a time period. The key is to use softened not melted butter and DON"T overmix. I toss my chocolate chips in with the dry ingredients to ensure even distribution and prevent overmixing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Dark Chocolate or Milk Chocolate - I just love these cookies. I always have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Really good cookies! I doubled the vanilla and chilled the dough to prevent the cookies from spreading too much. I used my smallest cookie scoop. I stirred in the entire bag of dark chocolate chips and then pressed an extra 3/4 cup chips on top of the cookies right out of the oven. The cookies definitely needed extra chocolate chips! (I finally was able to locate the Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips at Target.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These cookies were good, but not really any different than Nestle's original recipe for chocolate chip cookies. We still prefer the Best, Big, Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe from this site. I did enjoy the dark chocolate chips, especially because they are bigger than normal chips. In the future, I will just use those chips in my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Ohhhhh!!! just fabulous. Make sure to have a very tall glass of milk with these! I haven't made Toll House cookies in quite some time. And these are wonderful. My suggestion is that in between scooping and placing on pans...I keep the bowl of cookie dough in the frig. I also do not grease my baking pans, I prefer parchment for all my cookie baking. I'll make again. The dark chocolate totally made these worth while. Easy recipe, easy stock of ingredients on hand. Super fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States