Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Pan Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The taste was not too bad, but if you would like the bars to be soft and chewy, bake them at least 5 minutes less than the recommended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My mom used to make these for us as kids when she didn't have the time to spend making drop cookies. She added an extra touch. Before putting in the oven she sprinkled approx. 1 cup of choc chips over the top of the dough in the pan, put it in the heated oven for a minute or two, took it out, and then ran a knife through the melted chocolate on top, swirling it throughout the pan cookie. Looks beautiful when baked and cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by who_me
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Cut down butter to 3/4 cup, but still a little much. Baked in 9x13 pan for about 25-30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
My mom made these for my sisters and I as kids and it was a favorite then as it is now with my own two daughters. The key is making sure the butter or margazine is room temp. I once melted to liquid and that worked terribly. Also, go easy on the pan when greasing or your will get greasy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, but used a fat free butter substitute, Splenda granulated and brown sugar, and a fat free egg substitute. The cookie "cake" still came out great! It was moist, chewy, and light. Saved me a lot of money not buying this pre-made, and it was nice knowing it wasn't completely awful for me as far as the fat and sugar content. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Definitely the original-better make plenty-they will be gone as soon as they are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I formed the dough into the shape of a heart to make a large cookie, without a heart-shaped pan. I made a border of foil to surround the heart so it didn't spread. Cookie turned out good and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Although there are thousands of variations on the chocolate chip cookie, nothing beats the original Nestle version. Nothing ever will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
It was wonderful! I just added 1 cup of chocolate chips because I didnt want it to be too sweet! It tastes best when you just add 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent and I love the taste. Great old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANSI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States