Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Pan Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
They turned out great! The key is the butter, just put two sticks from the frige to the microwave for 25 seconds! Bake for 35 mins in a 9x13 pan sprayed lightly with pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Baked exactly according to the recipe (using the metal 10 x 15 inch jelly pan). The time suggested is too long, they were golden brown by 16 minutes. As others have suggested it is important to bring butter and eggs to room temperature. The key in baking this cookie bar (as with any other baking recipe) is to cream the butter and sugar until it is creamy (I used a kitchen-aid stand mixer on medium speed for about 5 minutes). Once creamy barely beat in the egg on the lowest mixer setting. Once the egg is incorporated add the dry mixture on the slowest setting until just incorporated. Then hand mix in the chocolate chips and nuts very gently. If the dough is buttery with butter coming out of the batter, refrigerate for about 10 minutes before spreading in the pan. Also, to grease the pan, just use the butter left on the wrappers. You shouldn't be able to see any butter, if you do wipe it clean with a paper towel, the residual butter should be enough to coat the pan. If you do not do this the excess butter will cause the bottom of the cookie to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
These are a nice change from your regular choc chip cookie. I like them a bit softer so I start checking them at around 15 minutes. Tastes like bein' a kid again. Gotta love Nestle TOLL HOUSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by dsrichmond
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made some changes and these were AMAZING! Cooked up nicely in 25ish minutes at about 350 degrees in a 9x13 lined with parchment paper. Changed some recipe bits to 1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, half a bag of dark chocolate chip morsels, whole wheat flour instead of white, and 1/4th cup water added after dry ingredients added to wet to help the flour work in - it's a bit dry otherwise. Used room temperature butter put in the microwave for 5 seconds, not melted or cold. Middle came out great, edges came out soft, beautiful cookie bars the whole way through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
It was good! Even though i didn't put enough butter in! (i put 1 stick, not 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa_Messing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I just made these today and they turned out good! As other reviewers suggested, I cut back on the butter (I used 1/2 cup). I cut back on the choc chips, but wish I had used the full 12 ounces... I used 8 ozs and it definitely needs more! I baked in a dark 13x9 pan and at first I was worried how thin spread the batter was. I baked at 350 degrees for exactly 27 minutes, then let it cool (bake more on its own) in the pan on the counter for 10-15 minutes before serving. Next time, I'm going to try making pan cookies using the Awesome choc chip cookies recipe instead... I just didn't have any instant pudding on-hand today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These turned out GREAT! I made exactly as directed except baking for only 15 minutes so they'd stay soft and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I think these were kind of salty and I could taste the baking soda? I'd probably try these again, halving the salt and maybe using baking powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Just found the original recipe on another site. Use 1 cup hard Crisco (not Crisco oil) instead of the butter and your cookies will taste much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States