Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
These are fabulous. I underbaked just a tad to make them chewy. They are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
what else can be said.. these are the cream of the crop chocolate chip cookes for the last 30 years..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
The classic and still one of the best. I usually leave out the nuts and I find that subbing one cup of whole wheat flour for one cup of the AP flour adds to the flavor and texture. This Christmas, I used that recipe to make cookies for the extended family and despite the fact that two other moms also made chocolate chip cookies, mine were the ones gobbled up first. In fact, some of the others are still there - hard as rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Of Course these are good!!! We all grew up on them, right? NOTE: DO NOT TRY SUBSTITUTING M&M's!! A crunchy disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Excellent!! However, I must admit, I didn't use the Nestle chocolate chips. I guess mine can't be considered the "original" recipe, but I used Chipits milk chocolate chips and they're still delicious!! I might leave out the nuts next time for a change. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I'm just 15 years old now but I can safely say that this is really the best cookie recipe ever! My mom doesn't get vanillia extract, but oddly enough, they still turn out perfect without it. On the other hand, our cooking class at school did the same recipie, and when we used the vanillia extract, they turned out all flat. If you like really soft and gooey cookies, try putting the dough in the fridge for a 1/2 hour before shaping and baking, and just bake for 7-8 minutes, they're so perfect, all my friends love them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Super cookies, as always. I had to make a few changes, living in the Netherlands. Choc chips are a scarce commodity, so I used the "puur" (semi-sweet) chocolate bars, refrigerated then smashed into chunks in a plastic bag using a hammer. Had to be careful not to smash them TOO much, or you just get flakes of chocolate. I guess you can say I made chocolate chunk cookies with this rather than chocolate chip, but the folks here rave about 'em and I get my fix of classic American treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
One of the best basic cookie recipe out there. This recipe made soft cookies that lasted about 2 days in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is my family's absolute favorite cookie. I always double the recipe and keep the dough handy in my freezer. I do have a few recommendations: 1) Use only half the amount of salt. 2) Use half butter and half margarine instead of all butter. Otherwise, the cookie may turn out too flat. 3) Try refrigerating or even freezing the cookie dough before baking. That will also help the cookie to be less flat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I love making these...they are quick and easy...kids love them...and with help from an adult...even a kid can make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States